Chevron Left
Back to Developing Data Products

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Developing Data Products by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
1,864 ratings
349 reviews

About the Course

A data product is the production output from a statistical analysis. Data products automate complex analysis tasks or use technology to expand the utility of a data informed model, algorithm or inference. This course covers the basics of creating data products using Shiny, R packages, and interactive graphics. The course will focus on the statistical fundamentals of creating a data product that can be used to tell a story about data to a mass audience....

Top reviews

SS

Mar 04, 2016

This is a great introduction to some of the many ways to present your data. It's probably the easiest course in the specialisation but shows off an impressive array of widgets and gadgets.

RS

Nov 19, 2018

This course was amazing, it could definetly be more deep in each of the subjects, but gives you so much practice in tools that are very useful in the day by day of a data scientist

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 348 Reviews for Developing Data Products

By Nikhil T

Feb 19, 2018

should have been more indepth

By Paul A

Nov 13, 2016

Great course, just like the others in the certification.

By Jorge L

Apr 25, 2018

Excellent content. I was expecting more examples related to the industry, such as data products for data journals, telcos, etc.

By Ramy H

Jan 28, 2018

Interesting topic, touching on many field. I believe it was quite informative as it applies on the previous modules knowledge into this one. However it didn't touch deeper on each topic.

By Angel S

Jan 07, 2016

Interesting course

By Jason M C

May 05, 2016

Compared to the other classes in the JHU Data Science specialization, this one is pretty laid back. It's useful information, and teaches a few nice tricks on how to present data analysis results.

By Robert W S

Dec 16, 2016

Great introduction to interactive plotting, mapping, and shiny. Deeper examples would be helpful.

By Fernando S e S

Aug 22, 2016

The skills taught in this course are fantastic and I'm sure using them will blow my colleagues' minds away. However, I must say that the lectures on Rcharts and other interactive plot builders sound kinda sloppy, poorly prepared. I know the documentation for those packages is bad and it takes effort to figure out what they do, but that is precisely why a well-prepared lecture would be so useful. I would also talk about license, since we have been dealing with packages that are completely open for use, but these have some restrictions.

By Julian J

Feb 13, 2016

Although all coursera courses are same, the peer assessment is very useful for this course. It's very helpful to see products made by other people.

By David L

Apr 12, 2016

nice class

By BAKHOUCH T

Oct 30, 2016

Great Course

By Tushar K

Feb 10, 2017

Excellent course. Got to learn Shiny Application in this.

By Chinmoy D

Jan 02, 2018

good and quite interactive

By Erika G

Aug 22, 2016

I enjoyed the class, but was frustrated when it came time to get my Slidify to work on GitHub (since RPubs wasn't publishing them correctly.) I had to convert it to RPres (which was easy, thankfully) in order to get my project submitted in time.

By Md F A

Oct 09, 2017

Good learning experience. I'd love to see little more detail work assignments.

By Ariel M

Oct 31, 2016

This is an excellent course that will teach you plethora of new things! The only gotcha is that things move too fast in the world of Data Science. Some of the topics and code might not work exactly as shown when you take the course, and many things will change. It's up to the student to make-up for the missing pieces, but I guess that is the only caveat when you work in a still-evolving field.

By Joana P

May 10, 2018

I lost myself a little bit, because the materials were a little over the place, we did shiny in the first week lectures and only in the last week the project was about it.

Same with leaflet, I think ti could be structured differently.

But i find them very relevant so that is the reason why I rated it with 4.

By Tiberiu D O

Sep 22, 2017

A good course!

By Manoj P

Jul 19, 2017

Excellent

By Timothy V B

May 19, 2017

Good intro

By Draidi F

Nov 21, 2017

Great and super interresting ;-)

By BIBHUTI B P

Jul 25, 2017

it was a very good experience to undergo this training.

By Erik P

Jun 26, 2017

Great overview of possibilities to interactively present your data!

The provided written material could be more in depth.

By Matthew C

Jan 06, 2018

Good course, but it was a little light on content. Probably the easiest month of the specialization aside from the first one. The assignments were too easy too pass. Good intro to some very interesting packages (leaflet, shiny, google vis) though.

By Jeremy O

Mar 10, 2017

excellent!