Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Engineering Mechanics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Engineering Mechanics by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.8
stars
4,832 ratings

About the Course

This course is an introduction to learning and applying the principles required to solve engineering mechanics problems. Concepts will be applied in this course from previous courses you have taken in basic math and physics. The course addresses the modeling and analysis of static equilibrium problems with an emphasis on real world engineering applications and problem solving. The copyright of all content and materials in this course are owned by either the Georgia Tech Research Corporation or Dr. Wayne Whiteman. By participating in the course or using the content or materials, whether in whole or in part, you agree that you may download and use any content and/or material in this course for your own personal, non-commercial use only in a manner consistent with a student of any academic course. Any other use of the content and materials, including use by other academic universities or entities, is prohibited without express written permission of the Georgia Tech Research Corporation. Interested parties may contact Dr. Wayne Whiteman directly for information regarding the procedure to obtain a non-exclusive license....

Top reviews

SY

Invalid date

Really Excellent Course. Learned a lot. The way Professor Teaches and explains is excellent. I would suggest all who are interested in mechanics should go through this course.

Best Wishes.

AS

Invalid date

EXCELLENT TEACHING METHODOLOGY AND APPROACH TO CONCEPTS IS AWESOME. PROFESSOR WHITMAN EXPLAINS THE WHOLE TOPIC IN A PERFECT MANNER. I LEARNT A LOT FROM THIS COURSE.

REGARDS

ARYENDER SINGH

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 982 Reviews for Introduction to Engineering Mechanics

By Avril K

Dec 15, 2016

This is a reasonable course, I definitely learned some stuff about mechanics. Things were generally explained well, though there were some things that could have been explained better. The quizzes were very simplistic (the type of multiple-choice questions where you often don't have to actually be able to do the calculations to figure out the answer, you can just look at the options and rule out all but the right one).

By Timothy A W

Jul 19, 2021

The biggest problem is that none of the practice problems have solutions even though they are not graded. Since they are not graded, there is no real harm in giving the answers compared to having no definite input on whether or not the problem is correct. Without that added input, we do the problems without knowing if they were done right. The guidance in the forum is not good enough since a lot of forum questions go unanswered and they only hint at the general direction. Otherwise, it's a good course, especially for those who need a refresher for someone who took statics in undergrad college over two decades ago.

By Sarah N

Nov 25, 2020

The material was well taught and with a good depth level. However, the fact that you have to wait an entire week before retaking a failed quiz is slightly absurd. I am taking this course and another one for extra credit in a current college class, but I risk not being able to actually complete the course in time due to this mechanic. It is very frustrating.

By Joceline F

Jan 16, 2020

Good material but the explanations in the videos aren't explained as well as I'd like and there are no explanations for the practice problem sets.

By Md N R N

Jun 8, 2020

the professor is awesome.It will better if he solve some hard problem in video lectures

By Aniruddh C

Jun 8, 2019

examples used were quite nice but the method of explanation could have been better.

By GODA V V R

Jul 17, 2019

very fast lecture and cant understand a few topics

By O.o O

Mar 30, 2021

There are no solutions for practices questions.

By Pierre W

Aug 20, 2018

extremely unsatisfied. Although the content is great. The lack of details, the missing results in the training exercises and the extremely arrogant coments (like: "Make shure you know how to do this" - Well if I did, I wouldn´t enroll in a course), making it extremely dificult to keep the pace. The quality in preparation is very deficit, and the interest in teaching even worse.

By Arun V

Jun 23, 2021

The course was a concise overview of the key concepts in statics. The approach was no-fuss and yet detailed enough. Overall, I am happy with this course, but there definitely can be improvements.

However, the course could have used more example problems as home-work problems. Having enough worked out examples is a must to grasp any concept in Engineering or Physics. Fortunately, I studied this course with the help of Hibbeler's book on Statics, so there was no shortage of worked out examples. I didn't make use of the textbook suggested by the lecturer, though that too might have been sufficient. But it still would have been nice to have these examples worked into the weekly lectures and problem sets.

Also, I am not a great fan of the cool-off period of one week after trying the quiz once. This simply made me more hesitant to take the quiz for the fear of ruining my shot, and delayed my clearing the course. This was a lot of unnecessary pressure of the kind that make real-world courses in Universities such a chore.

By Chandra P

Sep 25, 2016

I took the the Introduction to Engineering Mechanics by Dr Whiteman. I would like to give feedback that the Dr Whiteman is awesome, his way of teaching shows great subject knowledge. The practical examples with scaled models is superb and I could understand different support conditions with the help of his models. Hats off to Dr Whiteman who made understanding so practical which no professor here would teach students in India. Hope he takes several courses especially Civil Engineering, most importantly the Design of Reinforced Concrete Members in the future, which will help interested students around the world like me. The way he talks about beams, columns and structural members is giving us a lot of confidence. I would love to take Theory of Structures and RCC (Reinforced Cement Concrete) structural design courses from Dr. Whiteman/COURSERA. Thanks from my heart to Dr Whiteman of Georgia Tech. Chandra Prakash (a middle class father of 2 daughters earning 2500USD per annum), Hyderabad, INDIA.

By Manish Y

May 8, 2020

Excellent course and I highly recommend it to people who are currently doing A-Levels - final year - and applying to universities. I know its very difficult to balance commitments with A-Levels studies and doing this online course but it will give you a better outlook in which type of engineering courses you want to pursue in university or if engineering is something for you at all - it will give you a good outlook. I also recommend it to people who want to sharpen their knowledge in engineering if they have not gone over the topic after a long period of time. Dr Whiteman is an excellent online instructor (unfortunately, I have not met him in real life).

By Ranadeb R

Feb 17, 2024

It was a wonderful learning experience with the completion of 30 different in-depth Modules with each Module having its own Study Material and Individual 'Test Examples' to be solved followed by the Weekly Final Test. The Instructor was Dr. Wayne Whiteman who has done a fabulous job in conducting this course. He is the Director of the Office of Student Services and Senior Academic Professional School of Mechanical Engineering. The different Modules were very nicely distributed in different weeks to focus on one topic at a time, delve deeper into the material and fully grasp the concepts before moving on to the next module.

By Carlos F

Apr 17, 2021

I enjoyed and liked this course, even though I did not have some required previous knowledge like trigonometric functions and algebraic operations. I'm a bit sad because in the W3 and W4 exams I didn't get a 100% score, because of small details like forgetting to divide by 2 the product of b*h in the triangle area or walking a vector in the opposite direction. However, this course has encouraged me to continue learning and to be more careful with details. I look forward to the next course: "Applications in Engineering Mechanics". Thank you. Best and kindest regards.

By Tyler S

Oct 11, 2022

This course is excellent, whether you're new to the content or have prior experience. I did my BS and MS in biomedical engineering and never took an official "statics" class, and I've always wanted a better understanding of more complex systems than the stereotypical person on a diving board. This isn't so complex such that it scares away the novice, but it does equip you with the skills to solve problems in 3D and those that model actual systems in real life. Great course!

By Olivio A C J

Jun 20, 2020

A quite good course. As someone who graduated in mechanical engineering long time ago but has not seen mechanics since then I wanted to review the basic concepts and the course fulfills perfectly what is expected from it. Professeor Whiteman explains everything very well and the recommended book is very, very good and, quite important, free. I am quite satisfied and I intend to do the next courses taught by professor Whiteman at Coursera.

By Neil P S B

Oct 14, 2020

Learned the things I needed to learn. I easily understood the lessons and I was guided by the videos when I am answering my exams. Dr. Whiteman definitely did a good job explaining the lessons. I can see he is very knowledgeable of what he teaches and he is clear in delivering it to students. I do hope this message gets to him. Definitely worth my time and I will be able to apply my learnings in my field. That's all I can say. Thank you!

By Aleksandre A

Jan 5, 2021

I learned a lot during the course. Thanks Dr, Wayne for the great course. One recommendation would be that sometimes Dr. Wayne would explain some new topic, assuming that student has background knowledge. It would be better if Dr. Whiteman would elaborate more on newly used techniques and explain in depth or at least mention a little bit about new technique/concept (for example integration, vector product, center of mass/force).

By Ahmad J

Aug 13, 2020

I am from Pakistan. I recently started this course. The best Course Outline, best techniques and methods i have ever seen with practical examples as well. Really appreciate Dr. Wayne Whiteman his ways, techniques. Its my dream (my God fulfill it) to complete my Master's in Structural Engineering outside Pakistan. I hope may God help me and fulfill my desire to come and study in Georgia Institute of Technology.

By Nandik D

Jun 7, 2023

It get me through the basics and touched the difficult parts so easily. The assignments were challenging and few took me more than 1 attempt to clear. Topics were covered methodically and was kept simple. I loved this course and thankful to learn from one of the best colleges. I'm looking forward to complete the next part as well as other courses soon. Thank you for the lovely insights.

By Srinidhi L K

Jul 17, 2017

Dr. Wayne,

It was really a wonderful experience to attend your classes. I teach this subject for undergraduate students at Christ University, Bangalore and wanted to take up one myself so that i can understand how to define the learning outcomes. I could also learn some topics which are not part of our teaching curriculum. I am eager to take up more classes under your guidance.

By Saloni s

Aug 31, 2015

An excellent course; it helped me to learn the most fundamental topics of Engineering Mechanics conceptually and with clarity.

One of the major things that I liked about the course was that Dr Wayne made the otherwise seemingly difficult topics very easy and simple to understand.

Questions (of lecture modules as well as quiz) were also very nice.

Thank you very much Dr. Wayne!

By Deleted A

Apr 19, 2017

This is a great introduction to Engineering but make sure you know your physics (and some maths)

As someone who hasn't done physics and math for about ten years I was struggling and I spent many more hours studying and watching other video's on the internet to get the hang of the questions.

After things clicked for me I found the video's of this course easier to understand.

By LOPEZ M F J

Mar 1, 2022

This was a really fun reinforcement for different topics that are of use to me in my day to day life, is also really fun in the way that the videos keep you engaged and the topics are illustrated nicely, only problems I had was on week one, too many mistakes happened and I wish they made a video with everything correct to avoid stoping the class to explain what was wong

By yuko k

May 15, 2020

The course was very nice. The professor's explanation was very clear and easy to understand. So I am very satified with this course. The only thing I see that can be improved is that the homework tasks in the pdf is difficult to find in the document and sometimes there is no answer and I could not check my answer is correct. But the rest of the things were very nice.