Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Engineering Mechanics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Engineering Mechanics by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.8
stars
4,832 ratings

About the Course

This course is an introduction to learning and applying the principles required to solve engineering mechanics problems. Concepts will be applied in this course from previous courses you have taken in basic math and physics. The course addresses the modeling and analysis of static equilibrium problems with an emphasis on real world engineering applications and problem solving. The copyright of all content and materials in this course are owned by either the Georgia Tech Research Corporation or Dr. Wayne Whiteman. By participating in the course or using the content or materials, whether in whole or in part, you agree that you may download and use any content and/or material in this course for your own personal, non-commercial use only in a manner consistent with a student of any academic course. Any other use of the content and materials, including use by other academic universities or entities, is prohibited without express written permission of the Georgia Tech Research Corporation. Interested parties may contact Dr. Wayne Whiteman directly for information regarding the procedure to obtain a non-exclusive license....

Top reviews

SY

Invalid date

Really Excellent Course. Learned a lot. The way Professor Teaches and explains is excellent. I would suggest all who are interested in mechanics should go through this course.

Best Wishes.

AS

Invalid date

EXCELLENT TEACHING METHODOLOGY AND APPROACH TO CONCEPTS IS AWESOME. PROFESSOR WHITMAN EXPLAINS THE WHOLE TOPIC IN A PERFECT MANNER. I LEARNT A LOT FROM THIS COURSE.

REGARDS

ARYENDER SINGH

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 982 Reviews for Introduction to Engineering Mechanics

By Mohit M

Nov 16, 2020

This course was amazing it was easy and very very informative, Like for a student who always though Engineering mechanics was tough after attending this course I actually can't believe that its this easy and like I was engrossed the way of delivering the content I absolutely loved that and I'm actually gonna learn more and attend few more courses

By Anvesh K

Oct 10, 2018

I would say, Dr Whiteman is the one of the best professor. He explains everything in very detailed manner, so there is no chance of confusion. Thank you so much professor for your hard work and your commitment for making this course. The pace of the course is perfect. i'm really glad that i found this course. Thanks to coursera and Dr Whiteman.

By vivek b

Apr 17, 2020

I am a mechanical engineer but lost the hold of basic concepts because I am not working in field of structural mechanics. I took this course to revisit and learn those concepts again. Not only I got a thorough revision of the underlying concepts, I also learned some new techniques. I thanks Prof Whiteman and Coursera for bringing this course.

By Sudesh P

Aug 16, 2015

Dear Professor,

I love the way you taught me since last month. Your way of teaching, using real life examples, helped me to better understand and solve the problems. Thank You for sharing your lecture in Coursera and making it available so that a distant student like me can take advantage. And THANK YOU one more time Professor.

Sudesh Pathak.

By Sai G

Jun 6, 2019

I initially enrolled in this course with an intent to refresh my basics and as the course progressed further, I got a good understanding of the vectorial method of solving the problems of mechanics. Now I can able to follow both methods with ease. This course is more application in nature with examples of real-world problems.

By woohyeocho

Jan 24, 2018

I'd like to recommend this course to my fellow student who study aerospace engineering in South Korea. This course is full of interesting stuff and it's really helpful when you review what you've learned. I really enjoyed this course and I'd like to thanks Georgia Tech and Coursera for high quality online course like this.

By Ahmed T

Feb 14, 2022

I really can't describe how awesome this course is, Dr. Whiteman was always linking course content with real world examples, which was an amazing idea that helped me understand concepts deeply. I enjoyed every single lecture, now finally I have strong fundamentals about engineering mechanics. SPECIAL THANKS TO DR.WHITEMAN

By Monde M

Jan 20, 2018

Interesting course, great video lectures - brief and yet they include examples covering all aspects of the course topics. Online tutor participates actively in discussion forums and so does Dr Whiteman himself. Exciting and thought provoking quiz questions. You begin to feel like an Engineer/Problem Solver in action :-)

By Yogender T

May 14, 2020

Thank you sir for the making this course. I had a lot of doubts before starting this course. My main problem area was centroids which you explained very beautifully. And the vector part of the course is also very good I came to know when to use cross product and dot product.

Once again thank you for making this course.

By Юрий Г

May 4, 2019

The course is perfect for those who want to study/repeat basics of Engineering mechanics and for engineers who study English and want to get a good professional vocabulary. The only problem I faced was the absence of answers for homework tasks, which makes it hard to check yourself. Anyway, it deserves 5 of 5 stars.

By Thomas R

Nov 6, 2016

As someone with no prior education in engineering, I found this course interesting and a digestible introduction to what the math of engineering looks like. I would recommend this course to anyone interesting in learning more on the topic, but would warn that the course required a decently strong background in math.

By PATRICK N O

Sep 24, 2020

This course is amazing. I had no idea that Engineering Mechanics could be so simple and straightforward. Also, the fact that the course contents were compared to real-life applications was awesome. I sincerely appreciate Georgia Tech. for this opportunity and Dr Whiteman for a fantastic job. Thanks a lot, Sir.

By M A Z

Apr 30, 2020

I really love the way instructor taught us. I'm a mechanical engineer, and have studied that course before, but never understood it, but after studying from this instructor, I can pretty much say, I have learned Engineering Mechanics. I just wanna say Thanks to the Instructor and for that purpose Coursera too.

By Akshat A

Jul 14, 2021

Awesome course! I loved how descriptive and easy it was for me to follow along with Dr. Whiteman. I recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn more about Statics and physics of systems that are in equilibrium like bridges, towers, and cranes. I loved this course so much that I finished it in 5 days!

By Anshul

Jul 18, 2020

I am already learn introduction to engineering mechanics but in this course. I familiar with the real world example and problems related to the engineering mechanics.

Thank you sir to proved this experience.

By ONUR E O

Jul 30, 2017

I mastered my skills about this subject which will be helpful throughout my life and engineering projects. I will teach my newly earned knowledge with my classmates since, knowledge will be useful when its shared. I would like to thank to Georgia Tech and Coursera for this amazing learning journey.

By Bang L T

May 20, 2020

This course has been very helpful in introducing me to the basic physics of engineering. I'm a high school student who would attend university for mechanical engineering, and I took this course to strengthen my physics background. The knowledge this course gave me was very detailed and helpful.

By Drazen K

Jan 17, 2016

For me, as mechanical engineer, it was very useful to see how this course, that I had some time ago in Serbia where I live and work, is presented at an top US and world university.

Thank You so much Dr. Whiteman, Georgia Tech and Coursera for a really nice experience.

Drazen Kosutic, BASc in M.E.

By JUAN S S S

Dec 9, 2020

I'm very grateful with this opportunity. I can improve my knowledge about body statics in 2D and 3D. Similary, I reinforce the concepts of those theories and the mathamatic model.

Thank you very much to Georgia Tech and Dr. Wayne Whiteman. I hope to have other opportunity of learning with you.

By Rohan C

Dec 4, 2020

One of the best courses I have seen online. The professor is really good, and the way he explains the concepts is amazing. I highly recommend this course for undergraduate students. I can proudly say that after taking this course I feel that my concepts are more clear. Thank you Mr. Whiteman.

By xin z

Mar 29, 2016

Very clear in terms of style of teaching. Very impressive. I was an EE student and now a postdoc in aeronautical engineering and was in desparate need of a course in introductory mechanical engineering. This couse suits me perfectly. I will continue in other courses of this specialization.

By Abhishek N

Aug 29, 2020

A very nice course for increasing our knowledge can help people of all age group would have been better if the certification of free courses were free what we can do about that, afterall nothing is free in life, still i would like to thank coursera for this wonderful course

By jesus g n k

Nov 27, 2022

For me it was excellent learn about this topic that it is very important for me and I know that It took me more time that I supposed to finish it but at the end of the course anyone could say I've learnt about introduction to engineering mechanics I am very sure about it

By Rodrigo A G G

Dec 12, 2015

Excellent professor, excellent explanations, sometimes a little bit hard to understand for a beginner or he went a little to fast, however I was able to get help in the comment section.

I will definitely suscribe to his following course on Mechanical Engineer. Thank you.

By Deleted A

Aug 2, 2020

The course is a beginner level introduction to mechanics. This is at the level of an undergrad 1 or 2 semester course. The instructor was very detailed in his explanation and the course content is very well distributed over all the weeks. Would definitely recommend.