Chevron Left
Back to The Global Financial Crisis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Global Financial Crisis by Yale University

4.8
1,363 ratings
296 reviews

About the Course

Former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury Timothy F. Geithner and Professor Andrew Metrick survey the causes, events, policy responses, and aftermath of the recent global financial crisis....

Top reviews

TS

Apr 09, 2017

Great course indeed. I was following the materials and videos of the crisis for a long time and this course perfectly summarized everthing back by data analysis. Highly recommended to all enthusiasts.

RA

Sep 01, 2018

This course was excellent. The short yet crisp lectures have given me a fair perspective of what came before, during and to an extent after the GFC. I feel I will greatly benefit from this knowledge.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 288 Reviews for The Global Financial Crisis

By Anne G

Jan 10, 2017

Very good expose of the background the the financial crisis and great to have the insider's view as to how it was handled

By Rajat B

Jun 06, 2016

The scope, content and presentation were all very well done.

By Alex

Jan 29, 2016

This is an incredibly detailed and well constructed course to understand the complexity of the financial crisis in 2008.

By Yoman

Jan 14, 2016

We are really very fortunate to have the courses like this. A lot of thanks with a request that please continue to bring these very high quality courses in future also.

By Miguel-Angel W

Dec 16, 2015

Very useful in order to understand all the mechanisms of the Global Financial Crisis. Need to be related to the new book of Ben Bernanke "The Courage to Act".

By Bujinlkham B

Nov 13, 2017

really enjoyed the course and very satisfied quality and delivery of teacher. Mostly liked his philosophy of financial market. Highly recommended course for anyone especially top managers in the company.

By Ankit S

Jan 20, 2016

Really enjoying it so far

By Bernie A

Jun 06, 2016

Very informative and explained in an easy to understand and patient manner. I hope this instructor will have more MOOC's in the future.

By Lahcene O M

Jan 22, 2018

wow

By David S

Mar 17, 2016

I found this course to be an excellent historical and explanatory review of events around the Global Financial Crisis. The approach is evidence-based and the presentation of the material is extremely well done.

By Sukhdeep S V

Jul 24, 2017

Awesome

By Mike Y W

Mar 21, 2018

The breadth and width of topics covered in this course met my high expectations (it is Yale after all), but it would be nice if the course could be updated (I wouldn't mind paying more) with extra materials added in (or perhaps a new course or courses, "The GFC, Part II/III") for the past few years as I get the feeling this course was created in 2014. In addition, it would be nice if Secretary Geithner could have taught an extra week or two, and go more into the years leading to the GFC and the years immediately after it from his point of view. As a final suggestion, if there was a Yale specialization for market stress (or similar), including this course, I'd be all over it.

By Johannes P

Feb 22, 2017

Very informative course.

By Dr T A M D

Aug 11, 2017

Great Course, thoroughly enjoye

By Eduardo R

Jun 05, 2018

Excellent course.

By Niccolò P G

Jan 27, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. It is the perfect choice for someone who would like to further deepen the knowledge of the subject. Moreover, although the lessons are registered and are not live-streaming, it still has been a privilege to hear what happened during the crisis from the lips of one of the major political Actors of that period.

By Robin D Z

May 06, 2017

Great lectures, easy to understand.

By Alex M

Mar 25, 2018

Very strong, methodological course of a complicated subject, made easy to learn by the excellent stewardship of Andrew Metrick. Updates are overdue for the outfall of Euro-crisis. Timothy Geithner is not as natural a teacher and his lectures are less rich. Overall however the course makes for targeted learning with appropriate detail and analysis that challenges pre-econcptions.

By Ken R

Jul 12, 2017

Very informative and thorough, with a good overview of relevant topics

By GBT

Dec 13, 2017

Excellent course and great insight into a very signifigant event in US history. Recommended to anyone of any background!

By Shibin T

Jul 11, 2017

very structured course, you learn something above and beyond the financial crisis - you learn something about the whole financial system.

By SHRINIVAS K

Jun 23, 2018

amazing course , can not explain in words.Thank you very much secretary and professor.

By Gavin C

Mar 15, 2016

A well presented and evidence based discourse on the Global Financial Crisis

By S L

Feb 22, 2016

great!

By Laurel S L

Apr 20, 2017

Excellent overview; top notch analysis of A complex topic presented thoroughly by knowledgeable economist in a way that made it surprisingly easy to understand. Beautifully done. A MUST do course for anyone in political or economic fields that involve or are impacted by G8 business/economic forces.