Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Git and GitHub

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Git and GitHub by Google

4.8
stars
7,358 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn how to keep track of the different versions of your code and configuration files using a popular version control system (VCS) called Git. We'll also go through how to set up an account with a service called GitHub so that you can create your very own remote repositories to store your code and configuration. Throughout this course, you'll learn about Git's core functionality so you can understand how and why it’s used in organizations. We’ll look into both basic and more advanced features, like branches and merging. We'll demonstrate how having a working knowledge of a VCS like Git can be a lifesaver in emergency situations or when debugging. And then we'll explore how to use a VCS to work with others through remote repositories, like the ones provided by GitHub. By the end of this course, you'll be able to store your code's history in Git and collaborate with others in GitHub, where you’ll also start creating your own portfolio! In order to follow along and complete the assessments, you’ll need a computer where you can install Git or ask your administrator to install it for you....

Top reviews

MP

Invalid date

Very nice course I liked usage of quiklabs. :) Although as the last test do not have grading inside of the quicklab its a bit weird to not know whether you have passed before you submit.

AK

Invalid date

A must do course for those you are willing to contribute to the open source projects via git hub. Its very informative and I'm happy that i enrolled and completed it. Thank you Coursera !!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,735 Reviews for Introduction to Git and GitHub

By Sanket M

May 10, 2020

The course was very helpful. It contained a lot of useful information about git and github that I'll be using to improve my projects and managing my projects.

By Deleted A

Mar 22, 2020

The Course has good reading material and the the instructor tries to make jokes at the end of some videos which makes the course interesting and fun to watch.

By Erika Y

Nov 16, 2020

This course was really practical intro course to Git and GitHub. I like that we were able to practice interactively with some of their existing GitHub repos.

By Sofia S

Aug 13, 2020

Thank you! You helped me to understand how Git and GitHub works, the difference between them and how to collaborate with GitHub in a distributed environment.

By Olusola T O

Jul 5, 2020

This course is well organized and it will help a lot of programmer out there in organizing and having history of their codes. Am really proud of this course.

By Deep N N

Jun 17, 2020

This whole concept of git is a lot interesting. Its feels nice to learn git and github, Now I can explore and contribute a lot of great repos that out there.

By Ashutosh P

Jul 29, 2021

Amazing Journey in learning this course, Looking forward for contribution to Open Source Projects and Collaboration with other fellow developers!!! Cheers!!

By Joaquin M S

Aug 29, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I believe the concepts were clear and well explained. I would like to met the teacher IRL. Thanks Coursera for the opportunity

By Harla

Jun 28, 2020

Loved the hands on Assessment ! The course content was extremely helpful and of really good quality. Loved this course ! The instructor explains really well

By Juan C G

Oct 21, 2020

Excelente experiencia, las practicas van acorde a lo explicado en los videos. Existe un paso a paso que te va guiando. Y los problemas son ejemplos reales.

By Cristian A L V

Jun 15, 2020

Great!! I didn't have any pre-course knowledge but after I finished I learned the basics and concept and I want to keep practicing to improve my knowledge.

By Adrian W

May 2, 2023

I took 15.000 words of notes from this course so I can review any part of it in the future. Great to get to know Git and GitHub, ready to use it for work.

By kushal k

Jul 19, 2020

I learnt github and git and version control system but the course was amazing but first 2 weeks i found it tough then last 2 weeks it was easy and amazing

By hrithik k

Jun 6, 2020

the instructor was very good at in communication and teach hard concepts in easy manner ,also in time to time he make some jokes also which was very good

By Mukul G

Apr 28, 2020

This course is really good. I learned so much from this course. Instructor is also really good and knowledgeable in the field.Looking forward to use this.

By Soni N

May 9, 2020

It was an amazing course.The instructor was amazing. His teaching skill is awesome and the course is really gonna help you for collaborative programming

By Marco A G C

Nov 30, 2020

Muy buen curso, muy didáctico, pero sería mejor si incluyera más ejercicios en Qwicklabs, eso potenciaría más al curso. Muchas gracias a todo el equipo.

By James M

Mar 8, 2024

A great introduction to Git and Github. I am now capable of using GitHub to contribute to other projects using pull requests. Very practical knowledge!

By Gulcan C

Mar 12, 2021

I learned a lot of new things about GIT and GITHUB, then I can apply them in my own project. I also like the instructor, he explains everything clearly

By 로봇

Feb 25, 2021

I've used GitHub often since a long time ago. I am happy to learn the exact theory through this opportunity. Korean subtitles are a bit disappointing.

By Steven C

Jan 9, 2022

The course is very well made and explains complex concepts in a simplified manner. I will be referring back to the course if/when I need a refresher!

By Daryna I

Dec 6, 2020

Everything was told in a very understandable format, the instructor just the best of the best - very easy to understand and interesting to listen to.

By Larry M

Apr 8, 2020

The course took away the mystery of version control and helped me feel confident that I could use the git VCS and the github as a collaboration tool.

By Abijith K A

Jun 26, 2021

The training was absolutely superb and I genuinely enjoyed each and every moment of it. The content was extremely informative and incredibly useful.

By Aemarajan

Jun 12, 2020

It's really awesome course. Explanations are very clear and thanks to instructor to make a session clear.

And practice sessions are make very useful.