Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Git and GitHub

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Git and GitHub by Google

4.8
stars
7,364 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn how to keep track of the different versions of your code and configuration files using a popular version control system (VCS) called Git. We'll also go through how to set up an account with a service called GitHub so that you can create your very own remote repositories to store your code and configuration. Throughout this course, you'll learn about Git's core functionality so you can understand how and why it’s used in organizations. We’ll look into both basic and more advanced features, like branches and merging. We'll demonstrate how having a working knowledge of a VCS like Git can be a lifesaver in emergency situations or when debugging. And then we'll explore how to use a VCS to work with others through remote repositories, like the ones provided by GitHub. By the end of this course, you'll be able to store your code's history in Git and collaborate with others in GitHub, where you’ll also start creating your own portfolio! In order to follow along and complete the assessments, you’ll need a computer where you can install Git or ask your administrator to install it for you....

Top reviews

JZ

Invalid date

Even though it's an introductory course and everyone must get deeper into those topics, this course is very complete and provides you all the necessary to work with git in a real IT enviroment.

AK

Invalid date

A must do course for those you are willing to contribute to the open source projects via git hub. Its very informative and I'm happy that i enrolled and completed it. Thank you Coursera !!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,736 Reviews for Introduction to Git and GitHub

By Francisca G V

Mar 23, 2021

It was an amazing course. The guided labs helped me a lot!! I was like putting hand on practice while being guided and the videos were the perfect length, because when a video is longer than 15 minutes I start to lose focus. I already started using Git in my job. Totally recommended :)

By Johana M

Sep 21, 2020

My favorite thing about this course is how interactive it is. You can put on practice what you learnt right away and it just makes it easier to understand the concepts and practical uses it has. I recommend reading some of the complementary articles because they're so interesting too

By Alvin S

May 21, 2021

That a wow 😲 courses you will learn git and GitHub at tremdous level starting with really basics from using git locally and initial it for your project to very advance resolving conflicts working with branches making pull request and reverting the changes

That really worth learning

By Foteini D

Jul 20, 2021

This course is a really detailed and useful introduction to Git, the most popular Version Control System, and Github. I think that the course material was very well explained. The pace of the course is ideal for beginners. I would recommend it to anyone wishing to learn about Git!

By Вовченко А Є

Jul 29, 2020

This course is super useful and easy to follow in understanding git and GitHub. I like teacher's passion and interactive autogradable labs. This course is also helpful in practicing command line. All the workflow is shown in Linux but you can use Mac OS or Git console in Windows.

By Ritwik M

Jun 13, 2020

Excellent Course! I particularly enjoyed the manner in which the course instructor kept up motivation and explained all concepts with proper hands on examples. The access to the virtual machines ensured that as a student, I could gain hands on expertise with the course content.

By Ganesh P V

May 29, 2020

Very awesome course t0 start with version control systems. It has a good structure to keep the learner active. The instructor is very good at teaching. Explanatory animations are also good. I would suggest this course for anyone who likes to start with version control systems.

By Jose H H

Mar 21, 2020

I really appreciate the instructor did not read a script while teaching (or at least I did not notice it). Also has a good pace speaking. What all instructors have in common is that they won't get a career as comedians (cause of the bad jokes). It must be an IT related issue.

By Karsten S

Apr 4, 2020

This course is practical and interesting. The teacher is easy and fun to follow. The qwikLab tests are simple - but hands on. I enjoyed the course. The last part, code review and pull requests, where a bit too much ... but did not effect my positive opinion of the course.

By Afif N F

Feb 26, 2023

This course really teach me a lot about git and github. The instructor are all amazing and very clear at explaining things so that it's easy to understand. Other than that, they also made a good guide on the qwiklabs assignment where we can learn and test our knowledge.

By Rafael G C

Dec 18, 2020

It is a great course, the content was excellent and the interactive exercises were pretty neat and useful to understand al the concepts related with Git, Github and version control systems, and even a little bit more.

Thank you very much for the great job you have done.

By Dominique T

Jun 15, 2020

not easy to make an entire module on git and github. Well Done.

I would have appreciate to get an extra course on Setting up jenkins, exceptionally when CI/CD were mentioned. As I believe these concept are demanding and pretty standard nowadays.

thanks for the great work

By Nur M H

Mar 4, 2023

Awesome course with a clear layout and brief, to-the-point videos. The tasks in the lab are extremely simple to perform; therefore, adding a few additional exercises would be one thing that might be improved. This course has taught me a lot. I sincerely appreciate it.

By Igor F

Jul 5, 2020

I really liked this course. I think that it covers all basics that are needed to freely work with Git and GitHub to maintain projects on your own. There are enough examples, and information was clear and easy to understand. Great way to learn Git in your spare time.

By Shafiq A

Aug 10, 2020

Excellent course with a great instructor.Totally practical and hands-on assignments. I started with no knowledge of Git and GitHub but now after completion, of course, I am confident. I am happy that I have learned a great skill. Thank you, Google and course team.

By Steve M

Jun 18, 2020

It was an excellent course with many opportunities to test your knowledge via quizes, hands-on exercises and QwikLabs real-time experiences. I have never thought I would be learning Git and GitHub and I am glad to have done that and have this tool in my pocket.

By Sagor A

Jun 29, 2020

Honestly, I have been using github for more than 1.5 years and using it only for pushing to directories and pulling back from the previous if any problems occurs. But after completing this course learned a lot about git & git-hub. Really happy to learned a lot.

By Tomiwa F

Jan 1, 2023

I have used git for a few years, but taking this course made me understand the fundamentals of GIT and how it operates. I also got to the learn the best practice and I am really exitted to apply the newer things I learnt in my day to day life.

Thank you Google!

By Luis

Aug 9, 2020

This course was great, with many examples and clear explanations. I have some experience using git, but the course provided a great review and even helped me understand some concepts better. For a beginner, this would be a good introduction to git and github.

By Annisa Z H

Apr 6, 2021

A great introduction to Git! Great instructor. I found it pretty challenging to keep up with the lessons because I'm new to Git. But I'm sure the best way to master Git is by practice. And this course is a really great introduction (and even deeper) to Git!

By Mohammad I H

May 6, 2020

In this modern world, there exists no alternative to group projects. To make the collaboration between the group members smooth there exits no alternative of VCS. Thanks to the instructor and the whole team who have helped me to make this journey smooth. <3

By Elizabeth T

Aug 29, 2020

Absolutely loved the instructor, he wasn't too serious so the material was easier to digest. All video lessons were thought through and the whole scope of the course was exactly what I needed: all main functions of git & its usage in real case scenarios.

By Ravindra R

Jul 18, 2020

This Course is Simple and easy to understand the basic concepts of VCS. I really enjoyed all the exercises given. The teacher is great, He explained all the content in the simplest manner. Highly recommended to those who want to learn Git and GitHub.

By Julio M

Apr 3, 2023

It's a really good and interesting course. It's also very practical and useful. All the content is great and the instructor is really good too. Coursera is an amazing platform and I really appreciate all the parts involved in makings this course.

By George R

Apr 3, 2021

Great material and great instructor!!!

Only issue I had was with the Quiklabs.....some are outdated......instructions tell you to go here or there, but destinations have changed or aren't there any more. The labs need to be updated to current times