Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Git and GitHub

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Git and GitHub by Google

4.8
stars
7,357 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn how to keep track of the different versions of your code and configuration files using a popular version control system (VCS) called Git. We'll also go through how to set up an account with a service called GitHub so that you can create your very own remote repositories to store your code and configuration. Throughout this course, you'll learn about Git's core functionality so you can understand how and why it’s used in organizations. We’ll look into both basic and more advanced features, like branches and merging. We'll demonstrate how having a working knowledge of a VCS like Git can be a lifesaver in emergency situations or when debugging. And then we'll explore how to use a VCS to work with others through remote repositories, like the ones provided by GitHub. By the end of this course, you'll be able to store your code's history in Git and collaborate with others in GitHub, where you’ll also start creating your own portfolio! In order to follow along and complete the assessments, you’ll need a computer where you can install Git or ask your administrator to install it for you....

Top reviews

JZ

Invalid date

Even though it's an introductory course and everyone must get deeper into those topics, this course is very complete and provides you all the necessary to work with git in a real IT enviroment.

MP

Invalid date

Very nice course I liked usage of quiklabs. :) Although as the last test do not have grading inside of the quicklab its a bit weird to not know whether you have passed before you submit.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 1,733 Reviews for Introduction to Git and GitHub

By Jose M M L

Jul 18, 2022

The Qwiklabs portion gave me technical issues that neiter Coursera customer service, Qwiklabs support, nor Apple support (I'm using a Mac) could resolve. By the way, Coursera customer service simply passes the buck to Qwiklabs, which can only be contacted through email.

By Bonthu S

Nov 4, 2021

One of the worst course to learn git and github there are so many commands in git which we will never use and the instructor teaches that in a messy way please don't waste your time in this course my humble request.

By Hannah

Apr 21, 2022

Terrible. Really bad explanining and introducing new concepts. Very disappointed.

By Austin W

May 14, 2023

Labs don’t work, so you can’t pass the class

By Masood A L

Nov 7, 2023

Introduction to Git and GitHub" is a fantastic resource for beginners. It offers a clear and concise overview of version control using Git and collaborative coding with GitHub. The course covers the basics, making it easy for newcomers to grasp the concepts and start collaborating on coding projects effectively. Highly recommended!

By Itsido C A

Mar 23, 2020

This course guide the student in an enterprise set up scenario so he can be able to collaborate on projects. The instructor break down complex Git concepts to enable efficient contribution to large code base. This is an essential skill for IT professional. I learned a lot. Thanks to the instructor, Coursera and Google.

By Ashwin K

Oct 17, 2021

I had A LOT of fun learning about Version Control Systems, Git, and GitHub. The course was amazing and I've become more confident in my computer skills, and I am relieved, now that i have knowledge of VCS. Thank You

By Gabriel S d S

Mar 10, 2020

Amazing course! It teaches you a lot of really important stuff that you'll most definitely use in the I.T. world. Thanks, Google for sharing so much knowledge with us!

By Veronika G

Mar 16, 2020

Good course, interesting topics, good instructor. Appreciated that lots of related links prepared for the students to read (eg. CI/CD, best practices, articles etc.).

By Salahuddin D

Feb 25, 2021

i have use git and github before, but this course just make clear much more like how to fix conflic, rebase, pull request and how to deal with issue

By Atharva P

Sep 23, 2021

This is definitely a must have skill and I had a blast learning Git with Github. Googlers sure deliver unlike anyone else in this World.

By Эльберд А Г

Oct 6, 2021

Thank you, I really liked it, I used github for the first time, now I can use it. special thanks to you bro =))))

By Joseph B

Jan 6, 2024

This course is superb! Thanks for teaching me about GitHub and Git, Kenny! I'm glad that I learned all of that!

By Pawel J

Oct 9, 2021

This course offers a really good introduction into the subject of version controlling and Git in particular.

By Christoph G

Oct 4, 2021

Kenny Sulaimon is a great teacher and communicator - I felt extremely well attending his lessons !!!

By ZOLOO J

Oct 5, 2021

I have learned a lot here. Very grateful to have been taught in very interesting and intuitive way

By Eduard G

Oct 14, 2021

A well presented introduction to Git and Github.

Thank you Kenny for this course.

By Dan A

Oct 17, 2021

I've learned a lot of new things that I'd never known before!

By CC N

Jan 6, 2024

I got to see what I missed despite I worked on git for years

By Vsevolod K

Oct 3, 2021

Powerfull course for programming basics!

By Hector A P V

Oct 26, 2021

great course , and a good teacher !!

By sanket w

Oct 10, 2021

EPic Epic Could not get any better

By joao n

Oct 8, 2021

It was useful.

By Vladislav G

May 24, 2023

Some topics are too easy, another ones aren't updated to the latest Git and Github changes. Hope they'll make some changes in the course

By Jorge R

Jan 5, 2024

it's very good