Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Git and GitHub

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Git and GitHub by Google

4.8
stars
7,364 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn how to keep track of the different versions of your code and configuration files using a popular version control system (VCS) called Git. We'll also go through how to set up an account with a service called GitHub so that you can create your very own remote repositories to store your code and configuration. Throughout this course, you'll learn about Git's core functionality so you can understand how and why it’s used in organizations. We’ll look into both basic and more advanced features, like branches and merging. We'll demonstrate how having a working knowledge of a VCS like Git can be a lifesaver in emergency situations or when debugging. And then we'll explore how to use a VCS to work with others through remote repositories, like the ones provided by GitHub. By the end of this course, you'll be able to store your code's history in Git and collaborate with others in GitHub, where you’ll also start creating your own portfolio! In order to follow along and complete the assessments, you’ll need a computer where you can install Git or ask your administrator to install it for you....

Top reviews

JZ

Invalid date

Even though it's an introductory course and everyone must get deeper into those topics, this course is very complete and provides you all the necessary to work with git in a real IT enviroment.

AK

Invalid date

A must do course for those you are willing to contribute to the open source projects via git hub. Its very informative and I'm happy that i enrolled and completed it. Thank you Coursera !!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,736 Reviews for Introduction to Git and GitHub

By Jorge R

Jan 5, 2024

it's very good

By Rick S

Mar 17, 2022

I thought the videos were well done. The labs , on the other hand, really need updating. I was able to get the help I needed to get through a couple of labs from the discussion forums. The Kwiklabs help desk was virtually worthless. I exchanged over 15 emails with them and got nothing more than, "it works on our system, try it again." I also noticed the ability to rate the labs had been disabbled. The submit button was grayed out on all labs. The labs made, what would have been an otherwise enjoyable class, very frustrating. I would give the videos a 4+ but the labs a 2-, thus my overall rating of 3.

By Artyom

Sep 17, 2021

Initially it was OK, but all those advanced conceptions should have been explained in a more simplistic way or ignored at all!

By Thiago F N

Feb 17, 2020

The course is pretty good, but you should be able to skip it if you already have experience with Git and GitHub.

By Khateeb A

Jul 19, 2020

Labs were not challenging but frustrating to go through

By Oleksandr B

Oct 23, 2023

Poor tech support. I had been unable to complete the lab and get the certificate. Coursera support team refused to help, and Qwiklabs support team couldn't resolve my problem during 2 weeks, until I found the solution myself. Very frustrating and demotivating! I eventually unsubscribed from the platform and found another course on Udemy.

By Siddharth R

Sep 16, 2021

The course is very poor. The assignment was created by quicklabs. I am getting an error and they are not responding properly.

By Gagan C

Apr 21, 2020

You can't get the practical knowledge unless you have linux software.

By Hamish S

Oct 5, 2023

just video of a man reading a script. Awful

By Ayomide O

Jul 29, 2022

Had issues with the qwiklab

By Antony J

Aug 4, 2020

Another great course in the professional certificate.

I followed along in the videos using a Linux laptop and eventually a freshly opened github account (which you'll use in the later labs).

I can't recommend strongly enough following along in an 'active-learning' fashion. For example, there is one video in which a period is missing from a python command in a script which isn't tested before committing. I struggled for a few hours on this, making my own amendments to the script and going through the git workflow. Later on in the videos, the typo is identified!

Another great instructor and another great series of videos and exercises.

By Juan S P G

Jul 10, 2023

Great introduction to Git and GitHub! I was scared because I just wanted to understand the concepts for my data analysis projects and was afraid the course will heavily work on IT projects, but it was nice to see this was not the case. Many of the examples presented are just useful if you are in IT but you can just think about them as files that you can edit and push to GitHub. I would like there was more practice when we get to the GitHub section, but you can practice on your own just by creating another account with a different email although it would be great if you have a partner with whom to practice.

By Mo b

Nov 13, 2020

Course was almost Perfect! I struggled to learn some lessons but was able to understand more when searched online, the Instructor was Amazing! I would LOVE to THANK HIM A LOT for his efforts and this so AWESOME WORK! You were AWESOME MAN! -sorry I don't know your name as I only enrolled in this specific course not the whole specialization so I wasn't honored to know your name from the begining of the course 😂❤️- I would like to say that I noticed that you were either exhausted or sad about something, may ALLAH guide you. and hope you get this message, BYE ❤️❤️❤️❤️

By Vívék K

Jan 7, 2023

this was the first course i looked for to understand git and github. Before this course i already knew how to work with git like pushing field to GitHub repositories. But i didnt know why i am using these commands or if i get some error message, i didnt knew what that means and how to resolve it. This is where this course helped me to understand the basics. This was my first course i took on Git. Before enrolling for it i was in doubt whether I should go for this one or not but after completing it i can confidently say to you all "GO FOR IT!"!

By Ángel P C

Apr 22, 2023

Creo que, hasta el momento, este ha sido el mejor curso —y eso que el primero, como introducción a Python, fue muy bueno, y con el segundo aprendí muchísimas cosas—. Con este tercer curso, disfruté aprendiendo lo útiles que pueden ser Git y los repositorios de Github, no sólo para colaboraciones en remoto, sino también para mejorar nuestros propios códigos para no perder nunca todos los cambios, o para mantener un historial lineal. Gracias al profesor, gracias a Coursera, y gracias a Google por hacer este curso. ¡Vamos a por el siguiente!

By Juan D D L C R

Feb 24, 2023

I would like to express my sincerest gratitude to Coursera and Google for this wonderful course on Git and GitHub. Throughout this program, I have learned an incredible amount about various Git commands, from resolving merge conflicts to working with remote repositories, committing changes, making amends, performing reverts, and much more. I truly appreciate the effort and expertise that has gone into creating this course, which has enabled me to significantly enhance my Git skills. Thank you again to Coursera and Google!

By Don S

Jun 29, 2020

A great course delivered by a great instructor! I only audited this course (am just about to start a new job and so don't have so much free time) and so only watched the lectures and completed the quizes, but I now have a good understanding of what Git and GitHub can do. The explanations and demonstrations given by the instructor are very clear and are accompanied with helpful animations, while the in-lecture and end of module quizes help you test your comprehension of the conceps and tools as you go along.

By Fred T

Mar 15, 2020

This is a great refresher on how git works. I enjoy learning about workflows especially. This course has provided clear instructions on workflows which is, in my opinion, essential to collaborative work. If anything, promulgating these workflows as professional standards will be a major achievement to the path to industrialization, ensuring common practices and a common understanding among everyone involved in the industry. And this is exactly what achieving certification is about.

By AKSHAY C

Aug 5, 2020

VCS is a must-known concept for every developer. This is a well designed and well explained course from google team, that teaches VCS, Git, Github and continues all the way to introduction of CI/CD technologies. Also, the practice labs are well explained, even the bare beginners can get there hands on git and github very quickly and can start collaborating on open source projects. Thanks to google and the good instructor for giving an incredible learning experience.

By Yugesh K

May 25, 2020

This course is really helpful for non-IT/ Computer science students who wish to understand the whole "GitHub" Phenomenon. As an Engineering student majoring in Electronics I had no idea about where to start learning about Git. There were a lot of resources out there but they just added more confusion than solving the problem. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who has heard a lot about GitHub and Git but never understood it. Thanks, Google and Coursera.

By Nikhil D R

Jul 13, 2020

Don't think twice before enrolling in this course!!

If you really want to learn Git and GitHub (yes!! they are two different things and I didn't know this before enrolling in this course) I would strongly suggest this course. The course has really good practice labs that make us understand the real hands-on implementation and workflow of Git. By the end of this course, you'll be able to start your next project totally integrated with Git and Github.

By Sovan M

Jul 12, 2020

Perfect and solid concepts.As we know that git is too much vast, without practicing them its impossible for one to master. Hence if we do practice along with this high quality course i;ll that will be the best.

one suggestion: In the course where the concepts of merging and conflicts were discussed, according to me there need at least one ore example, because you know its not very easy concepts of manually conflicts solving.

thank you.

By Zan X

Aug 22, 2020

It is an awesome course offering virtual machines to get practice with the concepts. Beginner-friendly, generally going through the idea of Git and practicing on the basic workflow of virtual collaboration. It was great for someone who is looking for the intro-knowledge of Git, and I would recommend going to the next level of this course if you have known the basic command of Git or looking for more hands-on practices

By Mai L V

Dec 2, 2022

I have learnt new and interesting knowledge with this course about Git and GitHub. I quite like it and will continue to practice more. My sincere thank-you to Tutor Kenny and others who have put effort and time to make these videos, transcripts with clear instructions and all the interesting assessments and lab works. . This gives us access to comprehensive, informative lessons and very good exercises to practise.

By Alexey F

Jan 16, 2022

Loved the course. It's a great introduction to working with git and github for beginners. The theory is presented in a clear and accessible manner. The course also includes four labs. They are more of the "paint by numbers" style, but do help one better understand the material. After completing the course you will have a solid foundation for working with git. Highly recommended if you are beginner.