Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Git and GitHub

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Git and GitHub by Google

4.8
stars
7,357 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn how to keep track of the different versions of your code and configuration files using a popular version control system (VCS) called Git. We'll also go through how to set up an account with a service called GitHub so that you can create your very own remote repositories to store your code and configuration. Throughout this course, you'll learn about Git's core functionality so you can understand how and why it’s used in organizations. We’ll look into both basic and more advanced features, like branches and merging. We'll demonstrate how having a working knowledge of a VCS like Git can be a lifesaver in emergency situations or when debugging. And then we'll explore how to use a VCS to work with others through remote repositories, like the ones provided by GitHub. By the end of this course, you'll be able to store your code's history in Git and collaborate with others in GitHub, where you’ll also start creating your own portfolio! In order to follow along and complete the assessments, you’ll need a computer where you can install Git or ask your administrator to install it for you....

Top reviews

JZ

Invalid date

Even though it's an introductory course and everyone must get deeper into those topics, this course is very complete and provides you all the necessary to work with git in a real IT enviroment.

MP

Invalid date

Very nice course I liked usage of quiklabs. :) Although as the last test do not have grading inside of the quicklab its a bit weird to not know whether you have passed before you submit.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,733 Reviews for Introduction to Git and GitHub

By Leandro J R

Jul 9, 2023

I had an incredible introduction to git and GitHub, which provided me with a solid foundation in these tools. Prior to this, my experience with the topic was minimal, but now I feel confident in utilizing them to enhance my programming skills.

By Ayanfe O

May 17, 2023

I have no idea about github but after watching the video, i begin to understand the syntax and code that was use. Thou i can remember all but when i get to the place of work , i will be effective. Thanks to coursera , Thanks to jifunz institute

By Scott

Aug 22, 2022

Great intro course. The real learning came from repeated use on two computers at home... I must have blown up two or three repos learning about branching, merging, rebasing, etc... All of that practice made the actual Qwiklabs tests and quizzes.

By Raviram M

Apr 25, 2021

Very good beginner's introduction to Git & GitHub.

Well structured content with lot's of easy & relevant examples, with timely quizzes to test your understanding.

The best part is the hands on linux vm machine labs to try out what you learned.

By Paul D

Feb 13, 2021

Excellent. A difficult course to teach since the only way to learn git and github is to get out there and use it. The instructor did a great jib of organizing the material so I know how to think about the material once I do start using it.

By Tarak N S

Mar 25, 2020

It's good course to explore about git and GitHub with industry standard content, I will encourage to anyone who is looking to learn about git and github. Thank you so much Google along with coursera to make this course available via online

By Mitun K P

Nov 21, 2020

This is a great course for beginner to intermediate git learner.

This course covers the basic understanding of git, collaborating with git. I will recommend this course to beginner and intermediate learners to follow this course schedule.

By K G

Aug 19, 2021

The course was good the only problem initially was that Github has stopped access from local repository using password. This was my first time using github so took me about 15 mins to figure out how to connect. This info could be added.

By Carlos M M

Aug 15, 2023

It's a basic and easy course, but you get to learn the necessary things to start working with git. I totally recommend it for beginners or for people who, like me, have been working with git for a while but maybe need to fill some gaps.

By Benjamin B

Feb 2, 2021

So far, this is my favorite course of all the ones from the Google IT Support Professional certificate, as well as the Python for IT Automation certificate. This is due to both the content, and the instructor, who was truly wonderful

By Khaterine B d O S

Aug 26, 2020

O curso é muito bom. Perfeito para quem não tem conhecimento sobre o assunto ou gostaria de aprender mais funcionalidades. É bem explicado, passo a passo, e fornece referências para aperfeiçoar o conhecimento no tema. Recomendo!

By Learn P P

Jul 31, 2020

Great course with great instructor. I really enjoyed it.

If I have to give one suggestion for the course: it would be to have some difficult assignment at the end especially related to rebase and fork/pull request.

Thanks a lot

By Jhon J O A

May 19, 2020

It is a very complete course, and what I liked the most was the actual worked that I did working

ether in my own proyect or colaborating with someone else's remote repo. Also the instructor

enthusiasm at teaching was amazing.

By clifford d c

Jan 31, 2023

This would be the most interesting topic I had from all the courses. I gained new skills using Git and GitHub. I also got better in using Terminal, which I don't really used before in the past. Truly eye-opening experience!

By Aravind V

May 9, 2021

This helped gain a understanding of how GIT works and how a team and projects can be effectively managed using GIT. I had prior experience of using SAP SCM but this course helped stay up to date on latest process and tools.

By sushmanth n

Apr 6, 2020

Great Course for my starting my journey with GIT, it would be more better if the labs include excercise for practicing more concepts of git.But still the instructor provided us with a good understanding of various concepts.

By Daniel C

Nov 2, 2020

I learned the importance of version control in projects and the fundamentals in doing it on git. This course presents it in a straight forward manner and the instructor excellently delivered the knowledge we need to know.

By Rahul P

Apr 20, 2020

Very useful course for beginners. We will learn all the important tasks in git and github with ease. Not just git, you will also learn some python concepts, connecting to remote computer via ssh, accessing cloud services.

By Pavan C

Aug 17, 2020

This course was really Awesome. It deals with the complete syllabus of git and github. And its worth the time to study git. Its Google man, its pretty cool to learn with Amazing Instructors. Thank you Google and Coursera

By Anjana S

Aug 2, 2020

It was an interesting course and i learned more about the course and gathered more information about the course. And the mentor who taught me was really good . I really enjoyed the way i learned through this course .

By Angel G D

Mar 30, 2020

This was a little bit complicated because of the nature of Git. But the last assessment was an eye-opener, I messed around with the repo after I finished the Qwiklab and tested everything I learned there. It was great

By Dattajirao G

Dec 28, 2021

Very good contents of the course. Recommend to join if you want to brush your knowledge. And if you don't know Git and Github then you should join this course. Google is giving lot more valuable inputs for everyone..

By Charles U

Jul 1, 2020

The content covered was spot on what I expected, I learned a lot more about the power and features Git and Github have to offer. Also Kenny totally rocked this course as an instructor. Proud of you sir and well done.

By Robert L

Apr 30, 2020

This course was really filled with a lot of new concepts and technologies. But it was really interesting and having the instructor reassure you that it's normal to not understand everything helped keep me motivated.

By Vincent L

Sep 7, 2020

Very informative, straightforward and engaging. Version Control Systems like VCS take a lot of time to understand and get used to. You cannot memorize these commands. Always have the official Git reference in hand.