Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Git and GitHub

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Git and GitHub by Google

4.8
stars
7,370 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn how to keep track of the different versions of your code and configuration files using a popular version control system (VCS) called Git. We'll also go through how to set up an account with a service called GitHub so that you can create your very own remote repositories to store your code and configuration. Throughout this course, you'll learn about Git's core functionality so you can understand how and why it’s used in organizations. We’ll look into both basic and more advanced features, like branches and merging. We'll demonstrate how having a working knowledge of a VCS like Git can be a lifesaver in emergency situations or when debugging. And then we'll explore how to use a VCS to work with others through remote repositories, like the ones provided by GitHub. By the end of this course, you'll be able to store your code's history in Git and collaborate with others in GitHub, where you’ll also start creating your own portfolio! In order to follow along and complete the assessments, you’ll need a computer where you can install Git or ask your administrator to install it for you....

Top reviews

SA

Invalid date

This couse is owesome. This is the most complete git and github course i've ever taken. Thanks for google and the instructor for providing such a great course. I found this really handy.

JZ

Invalid date

Even though it's an introductory course and everyone must get deeper into those topics, this course is very complete and provides you all the necessary to work with git in a real IT enviroment.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,736 Reviews for Introduction to Git and GitHub

By Kevin W

Jun 15, 2022

I give a 5 star rating for the simple fact that this course is well though of, it is well organized moving from the fundamentals to the advanced concepts. Each topic is well explained by the instructor who moved at just the right pace. Repeating of core concepts also helped to reinforce concepts. All in all a very great course, one I will recommend to others. Great job!!!!

By Mijael M

Feb 12, 2020

The content was great. Some of the lectures on branches, merging and conflict resolution would benefit a lot by additional visual representations (and perhaps some animations) about how the changes will look like. For the most part, these were done just by talking about them and showing git log --graph, but they just popped up and disappear quickly from the screen.

By Harim H

Jan 21, 2021

This was my first time learning about version control, so I found in it a totally new path for me to discover new things and start integrating the tools and knowledge I already have. I'm certain this course will help advance in my career and I'm eager to keep learning more and more about it!!! Thanks a lot to the Coursera and Google team for making this possible!

By Raja M

Jul 20, 2023

The "Introduction to Git and GitHub" course by Google on Coursera was a great learning experience. The content was well-organized and easy to follow. The hands-on assignments and final project were particularly helpful in gaining practical experience. I highly recommend this course for anyone interested in learning version control with Git and GitHub.

By Kebede C M

Dec 16, 2021

This course is well structured and organized as the previous two were. The video lessons, quizzes, Lab assessment works provide clear instructions equipping the learner with the knowledge and skills needed to tap the power of VCS, Git in this case and GitHub for the webserver hosting of projects enabling great collaboration of teams on projects.

By Viktor K

Aug 16, 2022

This is a wonderful course, made with soul. This is a wonderful story in simple words about complex topics. Huge thanks to the amazing creators and Google Corporation. I am a refugee from Ukraine studying to find a job and this course has been a huge support for me and my family during a difficult time after russia's dastardly attack on Ukraine.

By Parbinder S R

Oct 30, 2020

This is a must to learn course for every IT professional, this course covers all the core concepts and handy study reference material with lots of demo during course video, and also provide labs to challenge your learned skill, i must say they are easy but some of them might not be straight forward but can be accomplished following the course.

By Aniket K

Sep 29, 2020

The course is nicely arranged and explains the concepts of git (and VCS in general) decently. Most useful commands have been covered and should be enough to get you through most of what is thrown at you. For occasional stonewalls, the best solution is practice and experience. The hands-on Qwiklabs exercises are also great. Good course overall.

By John C

Apr 12, 2021

If you are new to the concept of VCS, Git and Github, this course is an absolute gem. It not only covers the basic but also some of the best practices in a collaborative project. The assignment and courseworks are pretty straightforward but I guess the real learning comes from your practicing most of the concepts here in real world projects.

By Sunil K

Oct 1, 2022

It was great experience to learn. Its really important to learn about git and GitHub when we are working in a team for some project. Its destiny that I was able to study about the same from gdsc along with this Course. This made concept more clear in my mind. Now it's time to practice the skill. Practice .... Practice ....and Practice!!!!!

By yashwardhan s s

Oct 21, 2020

the COurse on Introduction to git and github is the best course out there .

the videos are short concise , modules have wrap up summaries, cheatsheets;

the instructor is smart, witty and friendly. the graded assignments are overall of easy to medium difficulty and can be improved . overall very good course and i dont regret completing it.

By Ayush

Aug 17, 2023

This course by Google was a very comprehensive and extensive course. It started with the knowledge of Linux commands and then gradually built upon this knowledge to extend to version control with git, throughout the course, there were plenty number of exercises to practice the concepts learnt. Overall it was a fun and great experience.

By Behzod I

Aug 8, 2020

Outstanding course. Recommend each and every IT specialist who wants to know his/her about history of their code and what they have done so far. Quite to be honest, in the past I used the Github but I have no clue about what I am doing. In this course I learn both fundamentals and some expert-level of using Git and Github. Thank you!

By Mayssa H

Oct 29, 2021

It is the most useful course about GitHub that I have ever taken. The content is really very well explained. I am actually an agricultural engineer with no background at all about IT and all those stuff and I followed this course smoothly without any difficulties and I am not applying the content in my job and it really helped a lot

By Yap C P

Jul 11, 2021

A very good and throughout introduction to the version control system.

The Git part was very complete and useful.

The GitHub part can get a bit more intimidating. The content provided is enough to get us through normal daily use, however if you would like to learn more you will probably need another course.

A very good one overall.

By Nabin B

Apr 29, 2020

I have learned so much about git and github from this course. Although, introduced as an introduction course this course covers almost every aspects of git and github which will be enough for many learners out there to include Git and Github as their skills in their resume.

Thank you Kenny, and everyone for your support.

By Akshay S

Oct 27, 2020

I learned Github is more than commits and pushing. This is a whole package to learn more about Github and version control systems. Instructor is taking sessions with great clarification and lots of nerdy humour :). I hope this helps a lot of us for collaborating and creating awesome stuff with version control systems.

By J G L O

Jan 11, 2023

This was an interesting and important course added to my learning as an IT HelpDesk, even though I don't use it right now I learned a lot on how to create repositories and work with collaborators and remotely too.

Adding new skills and knowledge so I can give more and be more productive working in teams or by myself.

By Bello S

Mar 24, 2020

I took some courses and watch some tutorials on Git and GitHub to understand better. However, they only got me confused the more. Opposite is the case with this course because it has helped me got the concepts clear.

The tutor's method of teaching and communication skill are really inspiring and motivating.

By Mititiuc E

Jan 30, 2023

I liked this course a lot. I should recognize that Git is very difficult to understand, but the instructor explained every concept very clearly. The graphical examples are very good and thanks to them it's easier to understand a lot of concepts. The labs were interesting too. Thank you for this course!

By Saptha P

Jun 26, 2021

Awesome and well balanced course for working professionals. Clear explanations and coverage of typical use case scenarios. ... I tried to learn git many times but things always slips over my head but I was fortunate enough to stumble upon this course and voila, I have learned so much in this course.

By Mehdi F G

Jan 19, 2021

I have really enjoyed having this course. Very structured and step by step. I was always very curious how developers manage to make a software or collaborate in an environment that they can track every small changes. Now I have an understanding for how a team collaborate in a coding project. Thanks.

By Amer J

Sep 6, 2021

Incredibly useful overview of Git and GitHub, with just the right amount of detail to set you up to use it. This also includes examples of real scenarios that you may encounter, which is extremely helpful when the instructor is trying to explain to you why this feature/command exists. Great course!

By Nicholas B

Mar 6, 2023

Great content to get you started with GIT, I did have some prior knowledge so had a bit of understanding going in so it was good to understand the why. At some points though, this course is a bit to wordy in the videos and can be hard to keep up. Re-watch to go through again to understand.

By Nazif B

May 29, 2021

After taking this course, I feel more confident about using git and GitHub. The instructor did a great job making this class enjoyable. I'd recommend this class to anyone who feels confused about how the different aspects of collaboration using git and GitHub fit together. Thanks, Google!