Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data with R

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data with R by Duke University

4.7
stars
4,360 ratings
1,021 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AA

Jan 24, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

HD

Mar 31, 2018

The tutor makes it really simple. The given examples really helped to understand the concepts and apply it to a wide range of problems. Thank you for this. Wish I could complete the assignments too.

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 999 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data with R

By David S

Sep 17, 2019

The videos of the course should show more R coding.

The assignments are too long, they take ages to review.

The explanation of the statistical concepts are excellent! Great job!

By Rajershi G

Jun 20, 2020

Good explanation of some non-intuitive concepts and nice applications at the end of each section with quizzes and assignments which test your understanding quite proficiently.

By Rosmer M V C

Jul 23, 2020

Good introductorial course about Statistics and probability. The course would be better if they explained more details about Rstudio and its libraries like dplyr and ggplot2.

By Elisa A

Jun 15, 2020

Very well structured and clear - I enjoyed it a lot. Just one point though...the time for finalising the assignments and lessons is way underestimated (at least for my pace)

By José J T M

Nov 28, 2017

All the contens are very good, but I have the feeling that I passed without knowing much about R. It good be better if there were more diverse examples of coding in R.

By Sichen L

Oct 29, 2017

This course is a great intro course for beginners, however it lacks depth. More examples and explainations would make this course a lot better than it is at the moment

By QUOC T P

Jan 22, 2017

The course was great

However, I expect to have some kind of more exercise since the amount of workload is not enough

Thanks for building this course

PHAN Truong Quoc

By Ashwini A K

Jun 02, 2020

I have learnt about R programming, probability and statistics and EDA through this course. The video lectures are presented nicely and are quite informative.

By Krishna L

May 26, 2020

The course content on statistics is great But they could've done better in R

The skills in R required for the final project were not covered in this course.

By Masa

May 03, 2020

There could be more clear instructions and completed tasks for R exercises. For beginners it does get too complex too fast without a resource to turn to.

By Raenish

Nov 11, 2018

Hi.I had a wonderful time with this course.Thanks to Instructor Dr Mine Rundel. I am a beginner and new to stats,still i got clarity on base statistics .

By Kaley H

Jun 25, 2020

Great course! Really great prof, who does a good job explaining the concepts. I am completely new to R and the course really helped develop my skills.

By Robert H

Aug 12, 2017

I appreciated most of the course. I thought that the final assignment did not fully represent the course as a whole, though otherwise I appreciate it.

By guanglingxu

Sep 10, 2018

The R practice is really useful,however,you need to pay more effort on final project by learning more knowledge than what was offered by this cours

By José L E N

Aug 15, 2016

Fantastic course. Both the lessons and materials were very educational. Besides it constitutes a very didactic introduction to ggplot2 and dplyr.

By Mark T

Jul 28, 2016

Great introductory course in statistics. The lectures are not about R per se, but you learn R by applying the statistics that you have learned.

By Yao H

Nov 06, 2017

Very informative, the project might be a bit difficult for R starters like me since the introduction to R in this class is not very systematic.

By Murray S

Jan 02, 2017

Does a good job of covering the basics. In my case, I'm looking for more of a refresher rather than learning the concepts for the first time.

By Saurav G

Dec 28, 2017

This was one of the great course available and the first one I have completed.

Thank you mentors for your hard work in making this course.

By 李晓蕾

Mar 18, 2018

statistics are quite adequately illustrated; however, the R skiils teaching is not efficient. i encounter alot of probelems of graphing.

By Alessio B

Jun 01, 2017

Very good course. A bit basic for my background, but useful anyway to refresh concepts and look at them from a different point of view.

By Miguel A B

Jun 09, 2020

Cheatsheets should be provided for beginners in using the RStudio. In that way, graphs and plots can be easily understand by the user.

By Chee C H

Aug 09, 2019

This is a good course for learning basic statistics, and then learning how to use some of those ideas with the R programming language.

By mnavidad

May 03, 2018

This course was well structured and provided the right information, the lectures give a beginners understanding of statistics and more

By Hung Q P

Nov 15, 2018

The course material covers the concepts of probability quite well. However, the course should go deeper in R programming techniques.