Chevron Left
Back to Project Management: The Basics for Success

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Project Management: The Basics for Success by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
10,571 ratings

About the Course

This course combines the essential elements of Project Management and Team Leadership into one course. Through class engagement and reflection, you will acquire further understanding of the responsibilities of leadership and become better prepared to apply this knowledge to the project environment. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Learn about the role of high performance teams and leadership in project management 2. Learn about the tools and techniques for developing and strengthening high performance teams and team members 3. Learn about the stages in project cycle 4. Apply best practices to develop competencies and skills in planning and controlling projects to ensure successful outcomes 5. Learn how to monitor project activities and assess progress 6. Learn to communicate proficiently to report project status and performance to stakeholders and contribute to organizational knowledge base...

Top reviews

JA

Dec 3, 2020

the best starting point to continue your knowledge on the relevant and basic skills required in managing a project. Effective notes and referral videos for further understanding of project management.

A

May 19, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 2,035 Reviews for Project Management: The Basics for Success

By Richard K A

Nov 3, 2019

Simple, no long notes coupled with simple but great video materials. This course scaled up a new paradigm shift in my personal life and managerial / leadership skills. Initiating and closing projects is almost an everyday activity in my daily transactions. This course came at the right time and I am more than glad I took this course. Great course. Thanks Coursera

By Stefan M

Jan 26, 2021

Great course to get a first glimpse about project management. For me it was a refresher after a course I attended a decade ago. I experienced even new topics which were not known to me. And I can only recommend to take this course if you have to manage or lead even a small project. This course is superhelpfull for the "junior non-technical" project manager.

By Abdullo G

Apr 25, 2020

Great, but distribution of the materials among the weeks is not appropriate and convenient...

For instance, i could totally miss the first 3 weeks and on week 4 work the hardest to get the best grade, but the effort was initially put accordingly (cause i did not know)... But in general, better than the majority of courses i have looked through, Danke Schon

By Anika F

Oct 17, 2020

This course is an excellent course for anyone who is working in teams. It not only teaches how to manage a project, but also how to negotiate, pursue and lead a team. The course instructor is exceptionally good. He uses examples and draw a scenario to explain various points, which make the whole course interesting and easily understandable.

By Mehdi I

Jul 5, 2018

Having done the course, you will be able to relate many of the activities you do to the idea of project. I think the best part of this course is you dont have to apply the insight you get from it only in your professional life, you can also use this profound knowledge in your other segments of life e.g. personal, social and what not.

By Rizaldar R

Aug 22, 2020

Greetings!

I would like to personally thank the lecturer Mr. Stone for providing us the chance to gain valuable insight into the world of projects and the concept of Project Management.

Would love to express my gratitude to Coursera for providing an excellent platform for anyone wishing to seek knowledge on any topic out there.

By Victor Q

Nov 1, 2020

The course was concisely presented. Valuable information gained thru online learning will be helpful for my career and personal development. Thank you very much to the instructor, Rob Stone, PMP M. Ed. Special thanks as well to the Department of Science and Technology (DOST), Philippines and Coursera for this opportunity.

By Amy S

Jun 18, 2020

I am an entrepreneur running an Interior Design business. I am looking to develop systems and work on team building. This course gave a great overview of Project management and will help my company when we are working with others to successfully complete a project. The instructor is great, and I enjoyed his humor.

By LF

Sep 20, 2015

This is a great introduction to Project Management, clear language and examples with PMI concepts and definitions.

I would just improve the slides PDF files, there is no need to put one slide for each action, if there is a list, each element of the list generates a new slide. Anyway content is great.

Thanks a lot!

By Mạnh T

Dec 18, 2020

This course is really helpful for the beginner like me who want to become an expert in project management. Besides, I have a "project mindset" with the view of everything like projects, especially in normal life. Risk management, WBS and others can help me not only in working performance but also in daily life.

By MOHAMMAD R I B

May 12, 2020

This Project management course is important because it ensures there's rigor in architecting projects properly so that they fit well within the broader context of our client's strategic frameworks. Good project management ensures that the goals of projects closely align with the strategic goals of the business.

By Luis A T B

Apr 3, 2021

El curso orienta de manea acertada al estudiante y lo enfoca en la manera de manejar las situaciones complicadas en un proyecto y habla a manera de refuerzo el contenido relacionado con la gestión de proyectos, el instructor orienta en excelente forma con ejemplos cotidianos que ayudan a entender la temática.

By Abhishek G H

Oct 11, 2020

This was my first course on coursera and of UCI too. I would love to learn at UCI one day if possible. Mr. Rob Stone made the course so easy to understand and was flawless through out with interesting examples in between. I will highly recommend my friends to take up this course to learn project management.

By Ozge C

Apr 7, 2017

The course has very nice and easy to follow content for a beginner. I think it could be even better if two small problems are addressed. First, in the lecture videos some slides are to fast and I had to pause or go back several times. Second, the course content is not equally distributed among the 4 weeks.

By Audric C

Oct 4, 2015

For a person like me who is not english-,native speaker, it was really great to finally understand everything. The professor is perfectly understandable. And the explanations given all along the courses are very clear. It was the first online course I followed and it was really great.

Thx Mr. Stone!

By KUMARAVEL R

Jun 2, 2020

Excellent course. I have really got many insights on Project Management Basics and definitely this learning would help me a lot in my upcoming assignments to deliver still better and very efficient way...Thanks to Coursera & our TATA Management Training Centre for providing this opportunity to me.

By Andrew D

Sep 5, 2015

An amazing introductory course that clearly teaches you the project management principles. I came out feeling that it gave me great building blocks to put on practice at work straight away.

On top of the contents, the concrete and amusing ways of the instructor make this course a must for anyone.

By Rebecca

May 21, 2022

This course was better than i expected !

I took it as part of the course specilization thinking I wouldn't use any of this information regardingwhat I want to gain from this specialization. I found the information and tools that were given to us very useful in everyday situations !

Thank you :)

By Abhijeet V

May 24, 2020

Rob Stone is really intelligent and experienced person in this field. His way of teaching is really excellent and would like to learn more him! This course provides you an outline on project management. Exams and Quizzes are really crucial factors in this course, it will test your knowledge.

By Jenifer S

Mar 10, 2022

This class was VERY informative about project management! The website said it was an 11 month course and I completed it in a month and a half. (with 100% average)... Its all about how hard you want to work. I have nothing negative to say about this course. I think EVERYONE should take it!

By HILARY H

Sep 2, 2020

Thanks to Mr Rob Stone for great Presentation and Speech. A fine course and presentation which help me a lot in understanding about the Project Management and keywords itself. Thanks again to UCI Division of Continuing Education for this course. Thank you. Hilary Hiew 3rd September 2020.

By Klaus-Michael C

Nov 9, 2015

I enjoyed the course very much. I learn very much. It inspired me and made me less apprehensive of the gigantic job I have in front of me. To follow the simple rules and questions of the course will lead you on the right path to success of your mission-based business.

Thanks

Klaus-Michael

By Celia L S

Nov 7, 2021

Excellent course! Everything is explained clearly with slides and videos for reviewing. The information in this course was very valuable to me in moving forward with how I manage teams, schedules, expectations and gave clear examples of tools that can be used to do this successfully.

By Kanchariya H

Sep 17, 2015

I personally fond of this first-time encounter with Project Management on Coursera. The course is not too stressful for the beginner as myself; however, I could grab many basic things from this course to have more confident! At least, I know something about management :) Thanks!

By Glenn G

Mar 5, 2020

Excellent as a methodology to study the fundamentals online. We ordinarily use differing project management tools in an adhoc fashion, this course helps identify and prioritize the essential elements of managing any project thereby adding value in our project management skills.