Chevron Left
Back to Project Management: The Basics for Success

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Project Management: The Basics for Success by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
8,359 ratings
1,669 reviews

About the Course

This course combines the essential elements of Project Management and Team Leadership into one course. Through class engagement and reflection, you will acquire further understanding of the responsibilities of leadership and become better prepared to apply this knowledge to the project environment. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Learn about the role of high performance teams and leadership in project management 2. Learn about the tools and techniques for developing and strengthening high performance teams and team members 3. Learn about the stages in project cycle 4. Apply best practices to develop competencies and skills in planning and controlling projects to ensure successful outcomes 5. Learn how to monitor project activities and assess progress 6. Learn to communicate proficiently to report project status and performance to stakeholders and contribute to organizational knowledge base...

Top reviews

A

May 20, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

JG

Mar 28, 2018

Very informative and interesting. Lots of useful tools. What I liked in this course was that there were lots of examples given on how to act when something does not go as planned or if issues arrise.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,656 Reviews for Project Management: The Basics for Success

By Klaus-Michael C

Nov 09, 2015

I enjoyed the course very much. I learn very much. It inspired me and made me less apprehensive of the gigantic job I have in front of me. To follow the simple rules and questions of the course will lead you on the right path to success of your mission-based business.

Thanks

Klaus-Michael

By Kanchariya H

Sep 18, 2015

I personally fond of this first-time encounter with Project Management on Coursera. The course is not too stressful for the beginner as myself; however, I could grab many basic things from this course to have more confident! At least, I know something about management :) Thanks!

By Glenn M G

Mar 05, 2020

Excellent as a methodology to study the fundamentals online. We ordinarily use differing project management tools in an adhoc fashion, this course helps identify and prioritize the essential elements of managing any project thereby adding value in our project management skills.

By Sarath K

Oct 19, 2016

“The method of teaching was fantastic. The assignments were well made and portioned appropriately. The instructor was knowledgeable. The class material was splendid and made the class enjoyable overall. I would strongly recommend this instructor & Course to any other student.”

By Elena L

Mar 06, 2016

Thank you very much for the great course! Very useful information not only in the PM area, but also in the management in general. Also very good flexible approach with moving deadlines, as sometimes it is very difficult to find time among busy schedule to listen to the course.

By Judith M

May 11, 2020

I truly enjoyed learning about this course, which not only applies to Project management at work but in business and life, in general. The instructor was also great and knowledgeable. I will recommend this course to anyone interested in taking their career to a higher level.

By Bilal H

Mar 07, 2020

I am very glad that I have taken this course and I also wanted to say thanks to the whole team and specially to Rob Stone.

The content of the course is excellent, the pace was good and I didn't face any difficulty understanding the concepts presented in the course.

Thumbs up!

By Khaled A

May 19, 2020

A very well-structured course with great delivery by the instructor. The amount and value of information offered in this course are immense. Highly recommend it for anyone who is looking to go over the basics of project management specifically or just management in general

By Laura C

Jul 21, 2017

This course is very helpful and educational. If I could change one things it would be week 4. That week is way to long. In my opinion, it should be broken down into 2 separate weeks. Other than that, the course is great. I would definitely recommend this course to others!

By Jennifer R

Dec 01, 2016

I really liked this course and it covered a range of topics for Project Success and basic principles. The instructor did an excellent job making the concepts down to earth and with real world applicable scenarios. It helped me identify the concept and process it better.

By Tom R

Jun 29, 2020

This was an excellent overview of the project management process. The instructor used relevant real world examples to illustrate points and provide additional information. I would recommend this course for someone looking for a great introduction into project management.

By Arunabh B

May 11, 2018

Great in-depth course on the fundamental of the Project Management course. Would definitely recommend anyone starting off with the PM role to go through this course. Obviously, being a good project manager is an ongoing-process, and requires time, effort and experience!

By Umair A

Jul 02, 2017

This course helped me to understand the basics of Project Management and focuses on why the knowledge of Project Management helps in getting projects done efficiently, and economically ! Its a definite must for anyone trying to tap into the project management realm !!

By Huelvedra F

Nov 25, 2016

Excelente curso, parabéns a todos os envolvidos. Parabéns ao professor que muita sabedoria soube explanar um conteúdo tão enriquecedor.

Excellent course, congratulations to all involved. Congratulations to the teacher who knew how to explain such enriching content.

By Hermelinda M P M

Jan 13, 2017

The course was an interesting experience for me because I adquired primary and new knowledg about the projects, its principles and the correct way to approach them from the beginning.

The teacher, the material, the pace at which the course was conducted were great

By Heinz H

Sep 28, 2019

I enjoyed the course very much. It has a lot of information I need for my next projects. The challenge will be to use these items in practical life. However, I think with the given introdcution it is possible. Many thanks to Rob Stone for the good performance.

By Alla S

Jul 20, 2016

Very well developed and structured course. Thank you. I was taking other courses related to PM but this one is the best due to its reliance on PMI requirements and definitions. This course helped me a lot during my preparation on obtaining a PM certification.

By Mohammed A F

Jul 23, 2017

Learned essential things towards managing a project. I could visualize each and every thing the instructor was telling, as I have some experience in working with different teams and various projects. Verily, the course title suits the content of it.

By Dante L C C

Feb 01, 2016

Great course, presented in a clear an professional manner. Good examples and pointing to proper additional material.

I just do not understand why the work load in the last week is very large compared to the three previous weeks. Still, I enjoyed it.

By Sabina D

Jun 18, 2020

Good insightful course with great content and well-thought-out presentation by instructor Rob Stone. it very useful for everyone at all levels of organization for a successful project or task management and execution. Thank you Rob, UCI & Coursera!

By Chukwuemeka O

Nov 17, 2016

I indeed acquired a detailed set of structured knowledge from a very practical perspective, this has given me a different perception and better approach to translate actions and activities around me especially in projects.

Special thanks to Coursera

By Maria G

May 17, 2020

I can apply the knowledge from this course not only in my Professional life but also in my daily activities like planning family activities or house projects. Also, the course gives a clear understanding of what Project Management is really about.

By Godson G

May 09, 2017

Course and the facilitators are really good and easy to understand. The concepts and training material is planned very well and laid out in a structural manner. Excellent course for anyone who wants to understand the concepts of Project Management

By Julia T O

Aug 23, 2018

It has been wonderful taking this course with Prof Rob Stone. He is a good teacher and I benefitted maximally from this course. I will definately be recommending this course to my friends and family as I am sure they will also gain a lot from it.

By WILLIAM T T S

Nov 07, 2019

Know how to deal with difficult people and focus on the scope of the project. The video also come with English subtitle. They also provide the transcript that it's useful for me to go through again. This course helped me to fill out the gaps.