Chevron Left
Back to Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries by University of Michigan

4.8
996 ratings
138 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the dictionary data structure and user-defined functions. You’ll learn about local and global variables, optional and keyword parameter-passing, named functions and lambda expressions. You’ll also learn about Python’s sorted function and how to control the order in which it sorts by passing in another function as an input. For your final project, you’ll read in simulated social media data from a file, compute sentiment scores, and write out .csv files. It covers chapters 10-16 of the textbook “Fundamentals of Python Programming,” which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" course and want to gain further fundamental knowledge of the Python language. Together, both courses are geared towards newcomers to Python programming, those who need a refresher on Python basics, or those who may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is a follow-up to the "Python Basics" course (course 1 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization), and it is the second of five courses in the specialization....

Top reviews

SG

Sep 16, 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

BA

Nov 07, 2019

The course met all my expectations and went beyond. The instructors' explanations were easy to understand and the innovative method of having a digital textbook was undoubtedly convenient.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 138 Reviews for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

By WeiDong

Mar 21, 2019

nice course

By Bensaid O

Mar 22, 2019

very helpful

By Patrick B

Apr 16, 2019

Great Course and content, only the explanantion of the final test is a little bit confusing.

By Ziqi W

Apr 02, 2019

That's good

By Huy N Q

Apr 02, 2019

This is the first course of mine in Coursera. It is very interesting. Thank you Dr. Chuck

By Md. H H S B

May 03, 2019

I have already done course 1 & now starting this second one... Its really awesome course . I love this.

By Krishnakanth A

May 13, 2019

One of my favourite courses in Python. Great content and great staff.

By Ralph P

May 12, 2019

Great progression of content from the first course and looking forward to the next. The final project was a bit of step up in difficulty, but not impossible. This specialization has been a great introduction to Python.

By Киба В Ю

Apr 06, 2019

it is great

By Allen F

Apr 04, 2019

Very good course where I learned lots about dictionaries, tuples, functions and made my first project in Python.

By Hongyi P

Apr 04, 2019

Nice

By Patrizio S

Apr 04, 2019

Absolutely recommended.

By Songly H

Mar 25, 2019

Great course with clear and easy to understand lectures !

By Paul s J

Mar 29, 2019

I learned the most from this course.

By Michał O

Mar 29, 2019

Really cool stuff.

By Akhil P

Mar 29, 2019

Great Course

By Mauricio G N

Mar 30, 2019

Excellent course, I believe one of the best in terms of Python explaining the use of functions in details, as well as common mistakes made during programming.

By Harsahib S

May 17, 2019

Very good interface really started to enjoy developing code in Python,only one thing I like to highlight is that the inputs for the final project i.e sentiment analysis were less,please modify that part a bit.

Thank you all instructors...

By omar A

May 28, 2019

Excellent course

By Ralph v S

May 29, 2019

Excellent video's and practice opportunities. Make a copy of your assignment before clicking the Grade button because your work is not accessable afterwards.

By Andy S

Jun 03, 2019

The instructors presentation is clear and concise. The pace is perfect for beginners in Python and the exercises and practice questions help reinforce the content in the course.

By Steve L K A

Jun 04, 2019

Love how the course is structured. Each video teaches one aspect of python with coding practice at the end of each video. Highly recommended!

By fan

Jun 11, 2019

I love the way they organized the course

By manish k m

Jun 19, 2019

it is very nice better than every other online courses.

By Yanqing H

Jun 22, 2019

very good course! explained the basic concepts so clearly.