Chevron Left
Back to Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
3,583 ratings
549 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the dictionary data structure and user-defined functions. You’ll learn about local and global variables, optional and keyword parameter-passing, named functions and lambda expressions. You’ll also learn about Python’s sorted function and how to control the order in which it sorts by passing in another function as an input. For your final project, you’ll read in simulated social media data from a file, compute sentiment scores, and write out .csv files. It covers chapters 10-16 of the textbook “Fundamentals of Python Programming,” which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" course and want to gain further fundamental knowledge of the Python language. Together, both courses are geared towards newcomers to Python programming, those who need a refresher on Python basics, or those who may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is a follow-up to the "Python Basics" course (course 1 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization), and it is the second of five courses in the specialization....

Top reviews

SD

Jun 25, 2020

Good course, had a great hands on practice with the Runestone Notebook Environment.\n\nAppreciate the efforts of the instructors and whoever has designed in making the course and helped delivering it.

SG

Sep 16, 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 548 Reviews for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

By ANCHAL J

Sep 18, 2020

Michigan University this course was very beneficial for me as an Electrical Engineering student .My coding skills was very bad but this course help me a lot and uplifted my coding skills.

By Amanullah S

May 13, 2020

Loved the course curriculum and lot of exercises to practice although it was tough during the project making . Any one should try this course to gain insights to Files , Dictionary .

By Oriana P P

Jul 12, 2020

Excelente curso, contiene material de muy buena calidad, la plataforma para practicar es una maravilla ademas que se cuenta con interacción con otros estudiantes, recomiendo el curso

By Muhammad A

Apr 12, 2020

Great introduction to functions and different data structures within Python! Gives you practical skills which you can use to make real-world (small) scripts to improve your workflow.

By Sudeep K K V

Jul 13, 2020

Amazing course to be honest,learned a lot and also enjoyed along the way.The course material was perfectly structured. Looking forward to the further courses in this specialization.

By Manuel I S M

Jul 22, 2020

I really enjoy this course, the guidelines they put in for the final project were too useful, with that I was able to guide myself and have a better vision to carry out the program

By Ammar P

Aug 07, 2020

the runestone textbook is do good. i did not even think learnng coding could be actually so interactive. the codelens also helps alt to undertand how python actually sees our code

By Luis F R C

Apr 22, 2020

Great interactive course. The online coding platform makes learning easy and convenient. Teachers are very good as well, thoroughly explaining topics and giving lots of examples.

By Leonardo Q

Oct 06, 2020

Es de los mejores cursos que he tenido en Python en manejo Funciones y Diccionarios. Me llenó las expectativas en cuanto a poder practicar y entender el trasfondo. Lo recomiendo

By Andy S

Jun 03, 2019

The instructors presentation is clear and concise. The pace is perfect for beginners in Python and the exercises and practice questions help reinforce the content in the course.

By MaryAlyce S

Sep 25, 2019

Now that I've completed this course and its final project I can confidently say I'm an advanced beginner and well on my way to being at an intermediate level Python programmer.

By Alexandra

Jun 20, 2020

Great course! Why? Because of the combination of videos, runestone environment and practice quizzes. It is a great course for anyone who want to learn Python programming

By Hyelda D

Jul 23, 2020

Great and professional instructors, ample practice tools, and easy to follow materials. Would recommend this course for anyone looking to advance their Python knowledge

By atul k s

Aug 16, 2019

its amazing learn for beginner . i am very thank full coursera and michigan family . but your support not easy possible to learn python.........so very very thank you

By BISHWANATH S

Jul 26, 2020

It's a very helpful course in building knowledge of files, dictionaries and function also. I have learned sorting based on some particular property of a sequence.

By David L

Oct 07, 2019

Great continuation of the first course. Clear, well-ordered lectures and practice-problems/exercises. Especially like the textbook as a companion to the lectures.

By Lubomir D

Aug 09, 2019

This course will teach you how to write simple functions, how to work with dictionaries and files. And there are some good dad jokes in there as well. 5 out of 5

By Altynbek S

Jan 11, 2020

All materials are correctly and mindfully spread throughout the weeks of study. Also runstone platform is extreamly helpful and crucial :) Thank you very much!

By Mauricio G N

Mar 30, 2019

Excellent course, I believe one of the best in terms of Python explaining the use of functions in details, as well as common mistakes made during programming.

By Bassem A

Apr 23, 2020

Thank you! The last assignment has really been great. The overall course was amazing. It's simple and starts from scratch and builds you up slowly. Thank you.

By Rohan S

Jul 26, 2020

Great course. The questions in the graded exams were too repetitive, but otherwise everything was very well explained. Final project was challenging and fun.

By Ralph v S

May 29, 2019

Excellent video's and practice opportunities. Make a copy of your assignment before clicking the Grade button because your work is not accessable afterwards.

By Amrit K

Jul 16, 2020

I extremely enjoyed this course. Both Steve and Paul are great instructors. This course clears your concept about files, dictionaries and sorting in python.

By Mohammad T H

Apr 15, 2020

It is a very good course following the Python Basics course and the last project was just awesome! It helps provide encouragement to continue programming

By Angie C

Jun 26, 2020

A very interactive way to learn complex structures like functions and dictionaries in Python, and hands-on exercises manipulating files. Great course!!.