Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
2,646 ratings
515 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

AF

Mar 15, 2016

This course excellent provides all the basic information which is important and necessary would recommend the course to all the newbies in financial markets\n\nP.S:The professors are AMAZING!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 497 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Sean L

Feb 12, 2017

Accessible for learners with close to zero background.

By Phibion M

Mar 29, 2018

interesting as an exposure. Enjoyed learning things that I didn't know and also being able to look at things in a way I had not previously considered

By zineb K

Jul 04, 2017

This course is brilliant- I enjoyed learning new information about the financial market and the instructors made it easy to grasp the information by using easy to understand examples.

Many thanks,

Zineb

By Shafiqul I

Mar 14, 2018

A great course! Finance is a heavy lunch/dinner for the brain, but if you have a cook like Dr. Michel Girardin, you'll love till the end. I urge all to experience it to be the knowledgeable modern person.

By ahmed E a

Mar 06, 2016

I thank all who shares in preparation of this great course.

By Gleb V

Apr 25, 2017

очень крутой курс

By Carolina A

Aug 11, 2016

Excellent. Covers a great range of issues and teaches us the basic but pra

By Racheal

Apr 25, 2016

the course is easy to understand.

By Ahmad Z Z

Mar 07, 2016

Excellent course. The course provides a good understanding of the financial markets and is an excellent introduction to the field of Investment Management.

By Katelyn M

Mar 25, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. Each unit has many small videos so it is easy to break up. The lecturers attempt to make it interesting (though sometimes they think they're funnier than they are). Regardless, it covers quite a few topics in a way that's very easy to understand. Some of the quizzes do seem to require an advanced calculator, but I was able to use a simple one and kind of estimate.

By Marco A S C

Dec 15, 2017

Excellent introduction course! Professors are very clear when explaining concepts.

By A.H.M. A

May 03, 2016

Excellent course and also very helpful.

By gabriel m d s

Apr 04, 2016

Very Good.

By Warren S

Aug 09, 2016

Excellent! I was very impressed with this course. I am in the industry and found the content relevant and accurate. I also found it easier to learn because the lectures are delivered in video format which I find far easier to learn than reading

By Atishy R

Feb 05, 2018

Great course if you want to understand basics of financial principles.

By valur b

Aug 19, 2016

This was a fantastic course that give the student a good understanding of the concepts in which asset investors use on a daily basis. Michel is in my opinion a world class lecturer in which he explains topics so clearly and in few words. Its very obvious he loves what he does and is very good at it. I would recommend this course to anyone who has an interest in financial markets and plans to take an active role in managing the assets they own; whether it be cash in the bank, the house you live in, your retirement fund or your child's college fund.

By ANIBAL H B

Oct 03, 2017

EXCELENTE CURSO, MUY BUENA DIDÁCTICA Y MUY COMPLETOS LOS MATERIALES. ME GUSTO MUCHO EL ABORDAJE DE TEMAS

By miguel o e

Sep 04, 2017

Excellent course!

Really a great way to get introduced to financial markets!

By Renfei G

Feb 15, 2016

With pleasure.

By vishal

Jun 13, 2016

Very good introduction

By Buck P

Apr 18, 2016

Concepts were presented clearly and in an organized fashion. The professors were very nice and relatable. 10/10 would recommend this to a friend

By Lidiya G N

Oct 06, 2017

Easy to follow information from professors and great insight from professionals from UBS. A must take for all even if you are a finance major.

By Alex B

Feb 27, 2016

Educative content. Very good for people who want to have a better understanding about the financial markets.

By Ana L C d M

May 05, 2016

Superb course! The topics are beautifully explained. Very pragmatic and systematic approach to the issues.

By Marcio O

Jun 09, 2016

Great overview of how the Financial Markets work and connects to your life.