Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
2,654 ratings
517 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

AF

Mar 15, 2016

This course excellent provides all the basic information which is important and necessary would recommend the course to all the newbies in financial markets\n\nP.S:The professors are AMAZING!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 499 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Jay A

Apr 17, 2017

Excellent!

By Cherikuri V A

Feb 26, 2016

Its a great course.....

By Niranjan S

Oct 05, 2016

Great. It has helped increase my knowledge of financial markets.

By Jens S

Sep 11, 2016

Very interesting course with good lecturers.

By Bilal A L

Nov 26, 2016

one of the best courses available for those who are keen to learn and understand how financial markets work.

By Thirupathi R J

Nov 02, 2016

Great course for new students, I love to learn. Thank you Coursera

By 卫泓泰

Oct 23, 2017

非常好!很好的打扎实了我的想法,也推荐给了很多人

By JUAN C R C

Jun 12, 2016

Incredible Course! Thumbs up! Finance is a fundamental aspect of our lives and we would all do well understanding how we can use the markets to improve our future. Thank You very much

By EVANS W G

May 07, 2017

Modules on portfoloio construction and risk management are the best anywhere! Keep up!

By Andrew K

Jan 21, 2017

Great course!

By Mauricio O

Jun 27, 2017

A great course to understand basic concepts in financial markets. It's very useful for personal finances and also to know how the markets work.

By M B M

Jun 27, 2018

I enjoyed the clear and basic examination of interactions between bonds. equities, interest rates and inflation. Building a solid logic foundation. Not certain yet how to convert this knowledge into actionable decisions but it forms a great foundation. Many thanks to the excellent instructors.

By Andreas W

Jun 06, 2016

Comprehensive introductory overview. Lecturers are great!

By Jaime A

Jun 03, 2017

Right level of information. Learnt a lot.

By Saswato R

Dec 31, 2016

Great course!

By Ankize L

Jul 25, 2016

very good

By Jeffrey B P

Jun 13, 2017

My view of the course so far is that it's very clear and thorough. I'm excited to see the impact that the course will have in my investing.

By Edmond

Jun 17, 2016

Great!

By christopoulou v

Aug 20, 2017

Enlightening, very well organized with a lot of examples!

By Jeremy Z Z

Jun 18, 2016

Great course that taught me the very fundamental conduits on investment

By Yash P

Aug 07, 2016

Very nicely structured. Great presentations and very easy to understand.

By Eugen T

Mar 05, 2016

Excellent work in this putting together this class. Just the right amount of key information presented in a natural way with real life examples and even humor at times.

I finally got it how the yield curve works - Thanks!

By Orlando M

Jun 13, 2016

Very well structured and the professor are very goo at explaining each and every concept

By Ioannis P

Feb 18, 2016

Very and helpful course

By EL M F

May 23, 2016

excellent course