Chevron Left
Back to Business Strategy in Practice (Project-centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Strategy in Practice (Project-centered Course) by University of Virginia

4.6
stars
140 ratings
42 reviews

About the Course

A Capstone Project is an assignment designed specifically to apply and showcase the skills you learned in the Specialization. To this end, the Business Strategy Capstone Project, a comprehensive Strategic Analysis, provides an opportunity for you to synthesize concepts and knowledge from the four prerequisite courses in the specialization. In this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia, you will be guided through your project by top-ranked faculty. You may continue with the organization you selected for previous assignments or select a new organization for this project. You will analyze the current state of the organization, strategic issues facing the organization, strategic paths the organization might pursue, make a recommendation of the best path for the organization to pursue, and write an Executive Summary. Your finished project will serve as an artifact showcasing your ability to conduct research on/within an organization, select and apply the most appropriate analytical tools, build a well-supported case for a specific position, and effectively communicate key points with executive leadership....

Top reviews

JS
Nov 26, 2016

Unless you complete the Capstone project all the knowledge remains bookish and theoretical.\n\nIn order to learn application of knowledge or skill in action one must do the Capstone project.

DO
Oct 17, 2019

The hands on approach helped me to gain confidence in my ability to carry out a strategic analysis of an organization. The project forced me to thoroughly revise all the preceding 4 courses.

Filter by:

26 - 41 of 41 Reviews for Business Strategy in Practice (Project-centered Course)

By Alvaro F

May 19, 2020

It is a wonderful and Great program!. Thank you so much!

By Avkash D

Aug 8, 2020

Hands on experience makes was worth it!

By Ali D

Jun 9, 2020

We need more courses like this one

By Abhinandan B

May 9, 2020

nice journey throughout the course

By Sagar D

Nov 8, 2020

best course and best instructors

By Alejandro B

May 24, 2017

Great colaborative session!

By Henry W

Oct 26, 2016

opportunity

By Omodiaogbe S

May 10, 2016

The final project gives a deeper insight and understanding of how to apply the strategist's toolkits in creating valuable competitive position for an organization. Great Professors

By Hernan E

May 28, 2020

It is a good exercise to recap the other courses, however the need to complete peer reviews put unnecessary pressure.

By Javier M

Aug 31, 2017

Good course, but it is basically a repetition and compilation of the prior 4 courses content.

By LEE S M

Jun 13, 2016

A well structured course for acquiring the fundamental knowledge on business strategy.

By WASIM I B

Sep 27, 2017

interesting course

By Sid A H

Jun 20, 2020

I think it's a repetition of the assignments of the previous courses in the specialization. I really liked the specialization but this project was my least favorite part.

By Joseph P

Dec 1, 2020

The entire grading system revolving around peer review is fundamentally flawed and does not show mastery over the subject matter. How will people who have a lack of mastery about the subject matter be able to properly evaluate the performance of other people who also possess the same lack of mastery?

Perhaps there are too many students for these instructors to individually check, but this is not the way to go about it. The entire system is inherently flawed as demonstrated by the gap of proficiency among any two students. This includes English proficiency. While I do appreciate the stance of being open to all willing learners regardless of where they come from, certain prerequisites need to be present in order to foster fairness in an educational setting.

Traditional school settings with students in a classroom work because these students all belong to a certain year, and are taking certain classes in their major, thereby starting off with the premise that these students possess a similar level of base proficiency that the instructors can work off of. So having peer reviews in these settings promotes a level of fairness since all of these students are on a similar learning level.

In Coursera's free for all system, it is potentially dangerous, and harmful to individuals receiving grades that they may not deserve. Whether an academically sound paper is graded low because certain terms are not understood by those reading it, or a poor quality paper is graded high due to collusion from students who TRADE grades. I have seen it for myself in the forums of people asking for a high grade and grading your submission highly in return. I have flagged these as such, but I am unable to confirm if appropriate action was even taken against these individuals.

I cannot, in good faith, support any other academic classes from Coursera given the abysmal quality of evaluation that I have observed and received from all kinds of students, and the seeming lack of quality control that the site itself has for said evaluation methods.

By Kimberely C

Nov 10, 2018

This course has no additional information from the previous courses. I felt it was just repetitive with just rewriting the same thing over again

By Aneesh R

Aug 1, 2019

You guys screwed me by not letting me start the class for another month. I deserve my money back