Chevron Left
Back to Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms, Stanford University

4.8
2,154 ratings
416 reviews

About this Course

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: asymptotic ("Big-oh") notation, sorting and searching, divide and conquer (master method, integer and matrix multiplication, closest pair), and randomized algorithms (QuickSort, contraction algorithm for min cuts)....

Top reviews

By KS

Sep 14, 2018

Well researched. Topics covered well, with walkthrough for exam.le cases for each new introduced algorithm. Great experience, learned a lot of important algorithms and algorithmic thinking practices.

By FR

Mar 16, 2017

Very good course in algorithms. I bought the book to help me understand but the lectures make it way easier and thus much more fun to understand the analysis. Looking forward to complete the spec

Filter by:

399 Reviews

By Abhinaya Nakka

Dec 13, 2018

Pretty amazing course. The book "Algorithms Illuminated" by Dr. Tim Roughgarden makes you greedy to learn more about algorithms. Some of the analogies he presented to explain the concepts were hilarious and makes it a fun read.

By Troy Do

Dec 07, 2018

Good Introduction with Intuitive Explanation

By Jon Scouten

Dec 05, 2018

Great problems, level is perfect for formalizing Do-It-Yourself programming knowledge

By Kiran Potnuru

Dec 05, 2018

Very helpful course!

By Ehsan Fathi

Dec 04, 2018

This course was a real one. The only feeling I had afterwards was that I wish I could meet him in person. He is just awesome.

By Saurabh Kumar

Nov 29, 2018

A great experience, always demanding full attention.

By Zhang Yu

Nov 28, 2018

Great course!!!! Clear and logical!

By Arthur Ouyang

Nov 28, 2018

Fantastic Course!!! I enjoyed it so much!!!!

By Edgar Rafael Hermoso Pérez

Nov 26, 2018

El curso es realmente agradable y permite obtener conocimientos para la optimización de algoritmos, altamente recomendado para aquellos que ya tienen una base ya formada. Parecería apropiado adaptar un curso similar para profesionales capacitados en otras carreras pero con interés en los algoritmos.

By Anton Berezin

Nov 19, 2018

Handwriting is difficult to understand sometimes but the content is awesome.