Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by Deep Teaching Solutions

4.8
stars
78,913 ratings
22,085 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning-focused, and Mindshift is more career-focused.) A related course by the same instructors is Uncommon Sense Teaching. To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Top reviews

RB
Mar 13, 2018

this course is great! I actually already know some of these Technics and concepts before i went into this course but this course did such a great job of explaining it the now it really sticks with me.

KD
Aug 1, 2020

This course accumulates a clear and valuable set of thoughts that structure knowledge about learning principles and tactics. Also, it was interesting to know some new things about how the brain works.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 10,000 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By Ali A

Sep 3, 2015

This will be an excellent course for undergrads and high school students but not much in depth knowledge and learning strategy for higher levels of education.

Teachers show mastery on their subject matter , though their presentation style is not genuine and naturally animated, to the point that it may feel boring.

By Ronan

Aug 11, 2017

Interesting enough if you do not have any previous experience with the techniques.

You learn about the 2 different modes of Learning - Focused & Diffuse.

Learn more by Remembering/Recalling, Testing yourself, learning from mistakes and using metaphors or analogies to understand concepts.

By Deleted A

Sep 6, 2015

it has a lot of nice information about the brain and ways of study, but this whole course is a way of procrastinating.

I feel like it could have been summed up really much better into written text and finished at a much faster rate.

By Peter W

Jul 23, 2019

Too school focused, I wish there was a version to help people that aren't being tested. I thought it would have more information about how to find useful information instead of just remembering what was presented to you.

By Michael S

Feb 1, 2016

While the instructors may be well versed in their fields, I felt the course took too long to get to the meat of the issue. I suppose I wanted a faster-paced course without a lot of hand-holding.

By mona

Oct 6, 2016

this is a good course but if you think better and deeply you will understand that deep inside you your self know this things but maybe you did not do in daily life.

By Evan

Oct 11, 2021

Although some ideas are useful, the lectures are overloaded with side stories and obvious things. I think this course would be best for students in primary school

By Paul T

Nov 24, 2015

Didn't learn as much as expected about learning how to learn. Maybe my expectations were too high.

By joan b

Oct 6, 2015

Really basic, with some interesting stuff but could be reduced to a third of the time...

By LEELA H K

Aug 26, 2017

Very basic and useful only for the students in high school... not for professionals.

By Tor G S

Apr 1, 2016

Boring techniques for remembering.

Nothing related to learning or understanding.

By nadia d

Apr 27, 2017

i think the coming classes will be great more than that ... but it's good

By annabelle r

May 31, 2017

The interview at the end was the best part of this course.

By pavan d

Oct 13, 2016

extremely easy and sparse content.

By Teera L

Sep 27, 2015

I want it to be more exciting.

By Jithu N K

Oct 17, 2015

superb course I ever had

By Yevhen M

Jun 20, 2020

The first chapter was pretty good. But everything else was just obvious things - check summaries and you will see. Learn, do breaks, sleep well, do sport, don't forget to repeat what've learnt. There are some interesting facts but they are not worth spent time.

By Horia C

Jun 13, 2016

This is definitely a course for someone that has finished a higher degree. if you've done that, there's a very big change that you already know about 90%-95% of the techniques presented in thous course.

By Lidia d C M M

Mar 28, 2016

ME DECEPCIONA LA FALTA DE TRADUCCIÓN AL ESPAÑOL.

NO puedo responder las preguntas porque no sé inglés.

Espero se solucione este problema para continuar.

Gracias.

Lidia Menares M

By Chayton C

May 4, 2020

really slow videos with 0 detail, really weird questions after videos with answers such as "a million billion" idk what this is supposed to be

By Harley F

Nov 18, 2020

Too long and boring, im sorry. i can see the purpose but if it was modernised it would be better

By Colleen B

Jan 31, 2021

The instructors were really bad, it was painful to listen to the course information.

By Artem

Oct 11, 2015

Only part 3 was partly interesting and usefull. All the rest is vain.

By Vasili K

Oct 5, 2020

Water over water. Just selling the books and personalities.

By Manisha B

Nov 29, 2020

I didn’t get my certificate even after completion