Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science and AI

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science and AI by IBM

4.6
stars
15,858 ratings
2,384 reviews

About the Course

This introduction to Python will kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general. This beginner-friendly Python course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours. Module 1 - Python Basics o Your first program o Types o Expressions and Variables o String Operations Module 2 - Python Data Structures o Lists and Tuples o Sets o Dictionaries Module 3 - Python Programming Fundamentals o Conditions and Branching o Loops o Functions o Objects and Classes Module 4 - Working with Data in Python o Reading files with open o Writing files with open o Loading data with Pandas o Numpy Finally, you will create a project to test your skills....

Top reviews

HM

Nov 18, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

MA

May 17, 2020

The syllabus of the course takes you in a roller-coaster ride.\n\nFrom basic level to advance level and you won't feel any trouble nor hesitate a bit.\n\nIt's easy, it's vast, and it's really usefull.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 2,365 Reviews for Python for Data Science and AI

By Sebastian S

May 09, 2019

Really dry, and the external tool they want to use gave me a "502 Bad Gateway" response. So I guess I'm not completing this course.

By Mark B

Apr 15, 2019

Too many cloud issues...

By Jakub

Feb 13, 2020

I am sorry but this is simply terrible.

I thought that Data Camp courses could use some work but after this mess - I am gladly returning to them. Save yourself some money and buy a decent book or watch videos on YouTube.

My complaints:

1) The final assignment doesn't load - I would probably force myself to finish this whole certificate, but I am not able to load the final assignment. Many other people have the same issue. What the hell is this?

2) Videos are very low quality - badly edited PowerPoint presentations read by a robot lady voice. No good examples, no engaging elements.

3) Quizzes are a joke - I can bet anyone 5$ that you will be able to pass most of them without watching a single video.

4) IBM tools overall - you use Jupyter notebooks here through some IBM site. Terribly complicated to set up, loads a while, and notebooks are not very high quality (compared for example with Data Camp). Why not encourage the user to download some Python IDE on their desktop and write the code by themselves?

Lesson learned: choose universities, not companies on Coursera. Not taking further courses in this certificate. Spend this money on a book, do some simple projects and put them on a GitHub account - this will be worth 10x more as this joke of a certificate.

(First course is worth taking for sure - enjoyable, high quality)

By MICHAEL A W T

Apr 22, 2019

Course is poorly organised, even the lines of code input by default in the final assignment have issues running, not to mention that the whole project needs IBM cloud/platform support, something students do not agree to before hand.

On forums, you may see the amount of problems and difficulties of this "course", none from the IBM team replies.

Sorry, I will not be recommending this to anyone.

By Jonathon M

Apr 24, 2019

The instructions for the last assignment are absolute garbage and the last project as a whole is mostly a waste of time when it comes to learning Python and data science. Despite errors and use of depreciated functions, the course was otherwise great but the last project's instructions and overall design is awful enough to undo the rest.

By Derek A

Apr 23, 2019

Horrible. Forced to use IBM Cloud and IBM Watson for assignments. Typos in instructions and not enough information in Week 5 material. Very poorly organized and i would not recommend this course because of how much time I had to spend trouble-shooting IBM Watson/Cloud which I have no intention on using.

By Ahmed N

May 19, 2019

The course content is very good until you get to the final peer graded assignment which is very unclear what to do and how to tackle and you're left alone to tackle a ton of errors that are mostly irrelevant to what you're learning

By mike g

Apr 25, 2019

Super fast and the examples don't help for the final lab. The final lab is extremely difficult and there is almost no support or guidance to help you with it. Waste of time. I could have paid for a better python course.

By Mikhael R

Mar 03, 2019

Do not waste you money. There is no even a place to ask question if you are not sure. They create a forum which is totally useless as nobody answers your questions when you stuck!

By Rishi R

May 22, 2019

I have wasted a lot of time in learning how to save and upload the data on ibm platform rather than actually learning python. There should be other methods to submit our work.

By Jose M S

Apr 26, 2019

You take more time trying to get to work the IBM products than actually learning python. This is specially salient in the peer-graded assingment

By Cristina A

Apr 12, 2019

The final assignment was not well explained, was hard to follow and the previous material in class was not intuitive to the task.

By Patrick P

Jan 28, 2019

Looks like it was made by an intern. Unclear instructions and terrible video quality.

By Wesley v W

Feb 06, 2020

No way someone without Python experience writes the final assignment code unassisted.

By Azat G

May 29, 2019

I think it is very good course to start data science with python. Modern methods and python libraries for data manipulation are included.

But as course was first created at 2017, there are some small parts of IBM Cloud setttings has been changed. This makes misunderstanding at week 4, then you need to use cloud servises.

Fortunately I understood that services became simpler. But I ask creators to fix the "creating project" part.

By Khaing W S

May 23, 2019

this is the touch week for me cos there is getting trouble in creating storage , bucket and credential on ibm cloud. Finally I passed the steps and got the certification. Actually very experience week.

By Deleted A

Jul 02, 2019

The course was indeed helpful to learn Python, made it very simple. Though the final test had question which was not very detailed - like I was not clear where to get the GDP data for US etc.

By Stephen S

Dec 07, 2018

With MATLAB being my programming fluency, Python was very confusing at times.

This was the course I needed to explain the most common data types in python in a clear and very concise manner.

By Lakshminarayana D

Sep 24, 2019

Great Learning Experience. Syllabus structure is great to learn python program, algorithms, connecting database and retrieving the records using data frame. Thanks to the professor.

By Javed A

May 31, 2019

What a brilliant way of learning. This course proved a real treat for me. I really enjoyed this course. Thanks COURSERA for producing such a high quality course contents.

By abhinavbhaskar

May 12, 2019

There are some issues related to the last assignment. Some more clarity about the use of IBM watson studio would be useful for the students who attends this course.

By Mustafa H K

May 15, 2019

Compared to other introductory courses, I liked the things taught. Simple yet very useful and seamless to learn. Could be even better with more practice or labs.

By Dianying Z

May 26, 2019

Great class! it would be better if the final task instruction could focus more on python itself than on the storage system.

By Diego I H G

May 20, 2019

Lo unico que puedo decir es que amo Python, es un lenguaje super potente para el analisis de la informacion

By Lisa K

May 24, 2019

Very comprehensive and the format was able to get me using Python right away. The hands on is fantastic!