Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science and AI

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science and AI by IBM

4.6
9,166 ratings
1,243 reviews

About the Course

This introduction to Python will kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general. This beginner-friendly Python course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours. Module 1 - Python Basics o Your first program o Types o Expressions and Variables o String Operations Module 2 - Python Data Structures o Lists and Tuples o Sets o Dictionaries Module 3 - Python Programming Fundamentals o Conditions and Branching o Loops o Functions o Objects and Classes Module 4 - Working with Data in Python o Reading files with open o Writing files with open o Loading data with Pandas o Numpy Finally, you will create a project to test your skills....

Top reviews

WL

Mar 14, 2019

Every course has offered something interesting, challenging, and surprising. I am glad I have spent the time with this class. I would strongly recommend it to others with an interest in data science.

SS

Dec 07, 2018

With MATLAB being my programming fluency, Python was very confusing at times.\n\nThis was the course I needed to explain the most common data types in python in a clear and very concise manner.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,225 Reviews for Python for Data Science and AI

By MICHAEL A W T

Apr 22, 2019

Course is poorly organised, even the lines of code input by default in the final assignment have issues running, not to mention that the whole project needs IBM cloud/platform support, something students do not agree to before hand.

On forums, you may see the amount of problems and difficulties of this "course", none from the IBM team replies.

Sorry, I will not be recommending this to anyone.

By Arjan Z

May 22, 2019

the final assignment was extremely poorly set-up. Instructions were full of gaps, omissions, spelling mistakes. Looked like it was written by a deep-expert who assumed a lot of knowledge that you do not have at this entry level and that was nowhere made explicit. I spend many hours on a number of evenings figuring what was meant. If this lead to constructive learning, I'd be OK with it. But now it was just a long egg-hunt to figure out how I was to post something using idiosyncratic IBM infrastructure which taught me little about Python. Was this course even test driven?

By Derek A

Apr 23, 2019

Horrible. Forced to use IBM Cloud and IBM Watson for assignments. Typos in instructions and not enough information in Week 5 material. Very poorly organized and i would not recommend this course because of how much time I had to spend trouble-shooting IBM Watson/Cloud which I have no intention on using.

By Rishi R

May 22, 2019

I have wasted a lot of time in learning how to save and upload the data on ibm platform rather than actually learning python. There should be other methods to submit our work.

By Sergio S S

Dec 30, 2018

I had done other Python introductory courses and this one was excellent, if not the best, very clear and well organized, a pity that the final assignment is somewhat chaotic, too easy and outdated. They should take care of the final works as a way to give additional value to the work we do when studying it.

By abhinavbhaskar

May 12, 2019

There are some issues related to the last assignment. Some more clarity about the use of IBM watson studio would be useful for the students who attends this course.

By Sriram N R

Jun 03, 2019

Great for a beginner

By CHIN-HUNG, Y

Jun 03, 2019

generally practical,

perhaps the quizzes should include some numpy nd array stuffs.

By Soumya S J

Jun 03, 2019

very nice course to learn python for beginners.

By Bilal A S

Jun 03, 2019

Great Course!

Learned a lot. Excellent Instructor.Quality Education

By Xin W

Jun 04, 2019

Nice fundamental course for python implementation in data science.

By Gowtham

Jun 05, 2019

Very good assignment, but need an update in IBM part

By Abhijit G

May 24, 2019

I have understood Python basics and handling data with python. Thanks for this course

By Lisa K

May 24, 2019

Very comprehensive and the format was able to get me using Python right away. The hands on is fantastic!

By Pranay C

May 26, 2019

Very good course for people who do not know Python. It just starts with the basic and focuses on data structures which is essential for Data Science. Does not teach you any unessential Python syntax which will not be useful in this specialization course. If you know any programming language, you will get it (because Python is easier and simpler than the language you know :)

By Chironjeet K C

May 27, 2019

Great

By Dianying Z

May 26, 2019

Great class! it would be better if the final task instruction could focus more on python itself than on the storage system.

By Renato L R

May 26, 2019

outstanding hands on training, very easy to understand how to apply the theory on the class labs

By 龚子轩

Jun 01, 2019

The teacher explain all technical skills patiently.

By Diego I H G

May 20, 2019

Lo unico que puedo decir es que amo Python, es un lenguaje super potente para el analisis de la informacion

By Mauro J S B

May 20, 2019

excelent course to start with python for data science

By Brian G

May 21, 2019

Very comprehensive! like the labs a lot!

By Ranjithkumar P

May 22, 2019

Kudos to the team, the course is really brief and practical to give lot of real-time insights

By Vardges Z

Jun 01, 2019

Good introduction of Python for beginners. Thanks to IBM.

By Khaing W S

May 23, 2019

this is the touch week for me cos there is getting trouble in creating storage , bucket and credential on ibm cloud. Finally I passed the steps and got the certification. Actually very experience week.