Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
6,678 ratings
1,325 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP
Jun 15, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC
Jul 30, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

901 - 925 of 1,299 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Ian L

Apr 1, 2020

Good course. The professor provided some good explanations and insight. However, I believe it could use a couple more walk-through's of the example problems along with more chances to practice. I think it should also show/explain incorrect answers after quizzes as to deepen the understanding of the person testing.

By William H

Sep 15, 2016

The instructor is exceptional at taking complex concepts and using examples to make them understandable. There is a lot of information so reviewing the videos within the different modules may be necessary. You will get a lot of good information and understand how to practically apply it. Very useful.

By Bonnie M

Feb 6, 2020

This was a great refresher course into math that I haven't thought about in a really long time. I wish there were more examples through the slides so that I could fully wrap my head around it, especially in relation to the quizzes, but overall, the course was great and did what it was supposed to.

By Amit G

May 24, 2020

Pros: This is a very good course to start with the quantitative modelling concepts, the professor explains every concept with well defined and structured examples. definitely recommendable to the beginners.

Cons: The professor could use some more practical examples/scenarios to explain better.

By Khalifa

Jul 13, 2017

it's really a pleasure to get the certificate from such of great university by the deserve and knowledge ...i thanks to all the teachers who help us to achieve and understand the course , i mean it's was really good experience and the lecture that i got we'll help me in my professional life

By Varun K

Jul 14, 2020

It could have been more interactive. They should try incorporating a few practice exercises, or ask us to work out solutions to a few problems before the actual assessment.

Other than that, it is a really well explained lecture, and trains you in the fundamentals of quantitative modeling

By Dannie W

Sep 11, 2018

The course is relatively easy if you have taken economics, linear algebra, and probability and statistics in college. It's more like a review. This entire specialization does not applies more broadly to any quantitative models than just a DCF model that investment bankers would use.

By Nicholas J C

Jan 28, 2019

Should have short sets of practice problems to work through between the lecture and the quiz. While I can often go back and just find the answer from my notes, drilling is the best way to learn stuff like this imo, and at least optional problem sets would be hugely helpful.

By Daniel d G

Jun 30, 2017

It was great learning. This kind of subject matter has always been difficult for me to understand, and it still was to a certain extend. However, in this course complex concepts are broken down into more easily digestable chunks illustrated by clear examples. Great course.

By Ankit G

May 26, 2020

Course content was good, however I feel that the concepts should be explained with examples having large data. There should be database based assignments for practice and evaluations. This would bring in more confidence while using these concepts in the real world.

By Aseem K

Aug 25, 2020

It is a great course but the way of instruction could be more innovative and incorporate more interativeness. Also please develop a prerequisite knolwedge section as for many, the mathematical concepts or the knowledge thereof seems alien like or long forgotten!

By ricardo h

Sep 18, 2019

Good overview of fundamentals of Quantitative model, yet most is theoretical and lack the part where it shows some actual practice. this would be detailing software used for each methodology. So that it gives a glimpse of what other skills one needs to develop,

By Ana L P d S

Jul 24, 2017

This course is really good, but it would be nice of the professor would explain a little bit better the formulas of the course. I did buy the book written by the professor but still find it hard to solve some of the problems in the tests. Overall, great course!

By Sayantan D

Jun 20, 2020

While the theory was explained very well, it would have been useful if some of the examples could have been solved by using Excel or some other tool, and if there was a way to show how these concepts could be solved in real life through some software/tools.

By Liam M

Sep 1, 2020

Thought the content was very well explained and the course was very well organized. Only complaint was that the quizzes were a little too easy/low level. However, I do understand why it is hard to ask more complex/difficult questions. Overall, very good!

By Jesús L B M

Jul 8, 2018

The content of the course is clearly explained by the instructor. I would say it is a nice introduction to the topics, but lacks practical exercises on spreadsheets. Overall is a good course, that allowed me to refresh some concepts about modelling.

By Sankalp S

Nov 10, 2019

More practice problems could have been incorporated for students apart from quizzes. Apart from this, my experience with the course was good. The instructor was precise in delivering the content and was able to explain all the concepts effectively.

By R V K

Jan 20, 2018

it was a brief but useful introduction to data modeling techniques and interpretation. The structure and course materials was easy to follow and the video tutorials were excellent. clear for non native english speakers to also follow. Thank you.

By Md. S B

Oct 18, 2019

The course is well-structured to have clear understanding of Quantitative modeling fundamentals. Learned the implementation of Probability distribution, Linear & multiple regression analysis & some others very crucial Financial analytical tools.

By Karl S

Jan 23, 2018

This is a good course that gives you an idea of how to use basic modeling ideas in a business setting. It does not get very deep into the mathematical concepts, but is still very useful and should help you perform the skills it teaches at work.

By Adeline 苡

Jun 24, 2017

suitable for beginners and people who wants to revise what they have learned in quantitative modeling. I took a level further maths and Ive learnt something quite similar before so this course wasnt very hard for me. Spent 6 days to complete it

By chen p h

May 14, 2020

Using numerous examples and theories to explain probability and statistical models. Very intuitive and helpful for understanding basic quantitative models, the purpose of using them and what should be noted during the process of building them.

By avani s

Nov 2, 2020

The course is very manageable. The faculty is great. Despite being a beginner, I felt very comfortable with the content and learned many things. Amazing course for anyone who wants to develop good skills in finance and is a beginner.

By Jayesh K R

Mar 27, 2018

would like a suggestion of reference books and some more solved examples to master the technique. Amazing videos, very interesting and won't let you turn away for a second. Overall a very good course for finance learning aspirants.

By Erick C

Jun 10, 2020

The course is informative, however, I would like to see the answers to the questions I get incorrect on the quizzes (after I pass of course), or at least a note telling me which video to review to find the correct answer.