Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
stars
4,390 ratings
917 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC
Jul 16, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

RC
Oct 5, 2020

Thank you! Coursera for providing me the platform for boosting my knowledge in Financial Markets, as i have learned various financial parts in this subject and this will help me in my carrier too.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 898 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Dan M

Sep 20, 2020

Very interesting course so far, explains some relationships in financial markets that I previously did not understand.

By Emilio S G

Jul 19, 2020

Summarized and to the point. Excellent introductory course. Includes the basics of everything you need as an investor.

By Valentina L d C

May 16, 2020

Connects the theory with practical examples that help illustrate what is happening in the world today! Amazing course!

By lax N

Jul 29, 2019

Great overview of key economic concepts. Lot of real world examples and repetition to solidify the knowledge provided.

By QUOC T P

Dec 17, 2016

The course is excellent

However, I wish that the course is longer; since many things that lecturer teach is so valuable

By Egor G

Jul 25, 2020

I really enjoyed the way Michel Girardin teaches the course. His approach is creative and entertaining, yet focused.

By James C

Mar 6, 2020

It's a very helpful course, the professors in this video are very nice, the reading material is very beneficial too.

By tanish k s

Apr 28, 2020

very nice introduction to financial markets.

very interactive and easy to understand.

week 4 topics are pure beauty.

By Philippe M

Dec 19, 2016

Very good introduction to the financial markets.

Material could be quite ameliorated if scripts were in PDF format.

By Andrei P

Mar 6, 2016

Excellent programme, there were some mistakes in the translation. For example instead of Yield it is written Year.

By Aishwarya

Sep 7, 2020

Michel was an amazing teacher who explained the things so well, I loved how he explained the last week of course.

By Matteo E

Jun 19, 2017

Great course. Introductory, well structured, simple and clear for a beginner to grasp important financial basics.

By Aarón G H

Jun 27, 2020

Great course! I enjoyed every lesson and it truly helped me to understand the fundamentals of financial markets.

By Tilak B

Apr 26, 2020

A comprehensive course that outlines the basics of finance. A good introduction for any individual interested to

By Rotem C

Oct 12, 2020

Very good course!

include theoretical things, but not to much.

Good for understand the base of financial market

By Fayez A

Jul 15, 2020

Excellent course for an introduction to financial markets. The quality of the videos and material is excellent.

By Ramanand G

Feb 8, 2020

This is the best course on financial market and also somehow difficult and easy but apart from it i enjoyed it.

By Martynas B

Nov 20, 2020

Excelent! Especially enjoyed Michelle's way of explaining topics in humorous yet understandable way.

Great job!

By Andre v B K

May 22, 2020

Great! Thanks for sharing all this knowledge. Great teaching methods, very useful charts and lots of insights.

By Selin Ş

Jun 12, 2020

Amazing demonstrations of economical theories by Michel Girardin! Thanks for the course, absolutely loved it.

By Ana I T L

Oct 20, 2020

Interesante curso! Comienza en lo más básico pero conforme avanza aborda temas profundos de forma muy amena.

By Santiago R R

Aug 25, 2020

Amazing course. I think it's the best i've taken out of the 15+ courses I have experienced here in Coursera.

By Eberto

Jun 30, 2020

Highly recommended course! The instructors explain very difficult concepts in a very easy way to understand.

By Masutano M

May 30, 2018

Brilliantly put out! well composed courses! rich with information and great insight to the world of finance!

By Bilal A L

Nov 25, 2016

one of the best courses available for those who are keen to learn and understand how financial markets work.