Chevron Left
Back to Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
1,236 ratings
237 reviews

About the Course

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required....

Top reviews

PD

Nov 27, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD

Dec 05, 2016

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 231 Reviews for Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

By Sanda L

Jul 15, 2016

A more theoretical Cours that I really enjoyed and made me search for different artists. I started researching more and discovered how valuable this can be. Thank you for all the resources.

By Денис

Jan 21, 2017

Interesting course. I reccomend it for people who want to knew some valuable information about history of design. It start from XIX century and move to XX century, but not to the end. It would be great if you will made a new course with new era of design with internet and modern devices.

By Julien M

Jan 30, 2017

Great stuff. Thank you!

By Gail H

Dec 27, 2016

A great course. Taking the specialization and this course fit right in with the other courses I have taken in the graphic design specialization. Recommend this to everyone interested in graphic design. Instructors were good. Enjoyed the course.

By Sreyas S

Apr 07, 2018

Fantastic Course! It helps you build a deep insight into the evolution of graphic design and also as a process of the assignments helps you understand local graphic practices and subculture!

By Iole M

Feb 03, 2017

A concise course with very meaningful visual contents. English spoken in a very understandable way, even for a non-native speaker.

By Brianna P

Oct 10, 2016

I loved how straight forward and informative this course was. I have such a stronger appreciation for what we see as design today!

By Mariagabriella L

Jul 02, 2017

I learned a lot, especially how to research and understand other designers

By Fahim A M

Aug 01, 2017

Loved it.

By David T

Feb 25, 2017

Very well-designed course with comprehensive information for each week. The content of this course is superb, but as a non-native English speaker, sometimes I find it difficult to catch up with the long sentences in the video and have to go back to the transcript.

By Carlos L

Mar 11, 2017

great reviewing of the different trends in graphics design history and the related marketing, great approach. i really enjoyed the course.

By 朱思超

Aug 14, 2017

great course for designers who have no idea of graphic design history

By Haider A

Jun 16, 2017

Very informative and a truly remarkable course.

By Michelle G

Oct 12, 2017

A very interesting survey with lots of useful and stimulating content.

By Abhilash V

Dec 24, 2016

This course has a great overview of the history of graphics design.The assignments are really fun to do.You will think and research about ads that are reiterations of the 19th century ads.A great course for those interested in the field.

By Utku K

Aug 16, 2016

Very nice and illuminating course

By khushbu.jenny@gmail.com

Nov 09, 2016

Very Informative!

By Jessika G

Aug 10, 2016

Very good

By Eugen M

Aug 20, 2016

An excellent course for those who know more.

Very well presented, quite easy to understand.

By Pablo B D

Nov 27, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

By Estefanía

Oct 15, 2017

Me sirvió mucho, gracias

By Sooyang K

Mar 13, 2018

This course helps to improve my basic knowledge of graphic design.

By Sol R

Jul 09, 2017

Excelente curso! muy completo e interesante!

By Yani V

Jul 18, 2017

i love you calarts.

By Deb S

Jan 27, 2017

Very interesting course. Would love to see an advanced course that explores more history of graphic design. Much fun!