Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Personal Branding

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Personal Branding by University of Virginia

4.4
stars
6,677 ratings
2,130 reviews

About the Course

Though the concept of personal branding isn't new, questions remain about how to create one and, more importantly, what it means to maintain and inhabit that brand. Learners will: o Understand both what personal branding means and what it means to inhabit their brand o Establish themselves on at least three social media platforms o Create a mission statement for their personal brand o Build a board of directors for their brand o Become familiar with the basics of digital security and reputation management o Create a system for on-going brand maintenance Join instructor Kimberley R. Barker as she provides a warm, supportive atmosphere in which learners are encouraged to intensively explore themselves in order to create a personal brand that authentically and effectively communicates their values and professional gifts. Together we will build a strong community in which to provide encouragement and feedback, and support each other as learners pursue their goal of successful brand creation....

Top reviews

SI
Aug 29, 2020

Understanding and application of Personal Branding with the fundamental skills to build leadership skills in the personal branding success in business is very important in today's E-network business.

MH
Apr 20, 2020

Thank you, mam, for such a wonderful lecture. I will be trying to follow all of the advice. By the way in the lecture, I am trying to copy your communication style. And it's an amazing time for me.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 2,109 Reviews for Introduction to Personal Branding

By Igor K

Feb 11, 2018

It is a good way to start your journey into the subject! Still you will not (and probably should not) look for something really comprehensive inhere, but if you've never heard of the personal branding or you do not know what to start with, it is the one to take. Kimberley shows her passion and some personal involvement into the subjects that also helps to capture her ideas.

By Luis M

Jun 26, 2019

While you will learn how to develop personal branding, I found the reading material somewhat outdated. Kimberley's videos are brief, engaging and interesting though.

By Felipe P d C

Oct 2, 2018

It is a great course, but I think it could go deeper. I found it somewhat superficial.

By Erica W

Jun 27, 2017

I found the material was really outdated when discussing social media. There is no way you are going to get noticed if you are only posting 2-5 times a day. Twitter is the smallest social media platform and more time should have been spent covering Facebook as it is the largest social media platform by far with more than double the amount of monthly users. Teenagers are still on Facebook and its not just for "older people" and businesses. The most valuable part was creating my own mission statement but the rest seemed like outdated information. The instructor was great in all the videos though and I really did enjoy her humor.

By Jane L

Jan 20, 2016

Entertaining course, but only for those who are totally new to personal development and branding.

By Aija V

May 29, 2017

Was an easy to follow course. Would look for deeper content. Good as an intro.

By Mohamed A T K

Jan 4, 2016

Course is OK, not too informative and not too poor.

By Leonardo S H

Mar 18, 2018

It is not a bad course, but it's very basic.

By Gustavo P

Jul 8, 2018

Good, but quite basic.

By Jenishkumar O

Jun 15, 2020

As a free course it was okay(IF YOU JUST WANT CERTIFICATE), but if it was paid i would have asked for refund. Lecturer speaks about tree that is behind her for 30 second in 5 minute video. I think she just made this course to add a point in CV that she has made a MOOC. She has made Quiz as Joke, it has 3 to 6 questions and anybody can pass the quiz even without watching or reading any content of this course.

By Marike F

Sep 20, 2020

Sorry to say, but this course to me was a bit of a laugh. If you are into personal branding, everything that's in the so-called "lectures" is about the same as you will know already. The most valuable in the course is the handout, the links to what other people had te say about some stuff in the course. That's why I rated it two stars. Otherwise it would have been just one.

By Oxana H

May 29, 2017

It's hard to me to name it a "course". It looks like an entertainment with some useful information. The information + the links could be fit in a two-pages article. I can't believe Coursera approved this "course". Saying that I remember incredible great works of other professors who represented their courses on Coursera.

By Sholanki G

Jun 7, 2020

I thought that whatever the instructor is saying is pretty basic and obvious, like how to use twitter. We don't need to take online classes to learn that. Also I thought she was out of relevant material. And the teaching style was quite boring.

By Giulia F

Nov 6, 2017

The course was interesting but I feel I haven't really learned anything new. The teacher seems nice and well prepared but the videos looked more like ordinary YouTube videos than actual lectures. I don't want to sound rude, I just expected more

By Anais J

Dec 19, 2015

The backbone of the course was useful, but I thought the lectures were lacking depth. The quizzes were way too easy, you didn't even need to follow the course to be able to pass it.

The extra articles and links were one of the highlights.

By Igor K

Apr 18, 2020

The lecturer is very enthusiastic, but the material is extremely basic and probably more geared towards those who are not very computer savvy. This course would have been good for the general public 10-15 years ago.

By Sunny J

Apr 14, 2020

Course started of great but cn be improved greatly. Better modules and course contents needed. Also, video quality needs to be better. Had higher expectations from this course but it was obvious it lacked them.

By Mary

Aug 31, 2019

Most of the material is not current and out of date. For example the We Are Social international data is pulled from a 2014 report, however, there is a current 2019 report published.

By Surya M

May 11, 2016

The videos were not very professional.

Depth of the subject was not there.

Very introductory and generic course where personal branding as a subject was merely cursorily touched.

By Anudari Y

Nov 17, 2020

This would maybe be an ok introduction for someone is perhaps completely unfamiliar with the internet or social media and would prefer a casual discussion about it.

If you have any experience already, most of this is a very broad reminder of things you probably already know, and most of it is just the professor's personal stories/self promo and random Forbes article links you can find yourself. You can find free vlogs/other content online about this topic that would be way more useful, especially in 2020.

By Maximilian P

Jun 1, 2020

Terrible! It's basically a self promotion and verbal masturbation by the professor with no content.. Quiz questions are ridiculous and absolute no brainers. They basically say: "Should you go to school or should you smoke weed with the cool kids? Whats your answer?" Additionally, professor has a nervous tick fixing her hair every minute and the material are selfie videos filmed with her iPhone..

I hope Coursera will act and take this course offline since it provides NO academic value whatsoever!

By Saddam A A

Jun 3, 2020

I think its too old .. it should be renew cuz lot of applications on soial media start after 2015

By Stylianos A

May 20, 2020

I recomend this course for all. It is short (i.e., can be easily completed by any one even, with tight schedules), straight to the point (no running around in circles with a lot of analysing and parallel topics), easy to understand and above all, or despite of all of these, you will gain usefull, important, and applicable knowledge.

I recommend this course for anyone who wants to establish a digital identity, as a professional or as an aspiring grown-up. For professionals, I don't think I need to explain it. By aspiring grown-ups, I am referring to young people who don't want to become known by their teenage social media in a world of grown ups. Keep those for your close group of childhood friends, and in your new life, show the world that you can create a new identity that's going to help you grow up and project a more professional personal image - brand for you.

Also, the knowledge can be used by working people who want to improve their image and that of their organisation although this would not provide immediate direct benefits for theselves. So, if you're a teacher, doctor, nurse, security worker, etc, working for a public organisation, community organisation and other similar institutions, you can project your own persona (keep to 80:20 to avoid being seen as arrogant) to connect to the community, and to establish yourself as a social leader or an expert in your job.

If you were wondering if this course is for you and whether to sign up, by all means, DO IT, and you won't reret it!

By Miljana S

May 28, 2020

Absolutely wonderful!

Kimberly, as being a colleague of mine in a way, brought us this course in a very dramatically driven, but surprisingly comic and most simplified and informative way possible! I enjoyed every second of it even though it took me some time to finish it due to my Covid - 19 treatment. I have to say that her enthusiasm, love towards educatuon and learning and bringing the best towards us, students, kept me wanting to know more and dragged me completely into the world she presented.

Definitely an amazing teacher and someone who should get more into acting, since I presume it surely was one of her passions in the past!

Bravo Kim and thank you Coursera for having such amazing tutors here! Thank you University of Virginia and looking forward to new exchiting adventures here with you in the future.

With love,

Miljana Stevanovic

By Bianca Y

May 27, 2020

The course was brief and the lectures were fun to watch mainly because the lecturer was very quirky and she didn't make the lessons too intimidating for first time learners. It felt like a very casual conversation between a mentor and a student. Really wish she had more MOOCs here on Coursera!

As for the topic itself, I find that it's easy to understand and really saw the importance of Personal Branding while I was listening to the lectures and going through the readings. Though there is no scientific framework whatsoever, she gives clear guidelines on things to-do and what not to-do like the 80/20 rule, creating a mission statement, making sure to check your privacy setting once in a while, etc.

She made the lesson very fun, interesting, and valuable to learn!