Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Project Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Project Management by Google

4.9
stars
60,134 ratings

About the Course

This course is the first in a series of six to equip you with the skills you need to apply to introductory-level roles in project management. Project managers play a key role in leading, planning and implementing critical projects to help their organizations succeed. In this course, you’ll discover foundational project management terminology and gain a deeper understanding of the role and responsibilities of a project manager. We’ll also introduce you to the kinds of jobs you might pursue after completing this program. Throughout the program, you’ll learn from current Google project managers, who can provide you with a multi-dimensional educational experience that will help you build your skills for on-the-job application. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define project management and describe what constitutes a project. - Explore project management roles and responsibilities across a variety of industries. - Detail the core skills that help a project manager be successful. - Describe the life cycle of a project and explain the significance of each phase. - Compare different program management methodologies and approaches and determine which is most effective for a given project. - Define organizational structure and culture and explain how it impacts project management. - Define change management and describe the role of the project manager in the process....

Top reviews

MR

Nov 27, 2021

Learned a lot such as Agile, C-Suite, Change management, Corporate governance, Culture mapping, DMAIC, Kanban, Lean, Lean Six Sigma, Linear, Matrix structure, Reporting chart, Six Sigma etc. Thank you

VR

Jun 12, 2022

Great delivery of material. Interactive and easy to digest. I was able to apply the conccepts covered in this course to my daily duties as a leader in my organization and was surprised at the results.

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations of Project Management

By Michael T

Nov 16, 2022

Just this module alone helped me get my first real project management job and prepare for my interview. During my unemployment when I was lost, this provided clarity and helped me realize that I want to pursue this as a real career. Thank you google.

By Carlos R A

Nov 7, 2022

Course was invigorating, yet intriguing, the format used for the videos and readings are well coordinated and easy to follow. However, you do have to proceed with an open mind, take notes, and be relentless in your pursuit to accomplish this PROJECT!

By Christine G B

Aug 24, 2022

Enjoyed learning ... The educational platform is user-friendly and the structured way you developed the course is pedagogical! Thanks for a great learning experience... Hope to experience more of this in the other related courses. Thanks a lot!

By Alankrith S

Jul 20, 2022

I was able to brush up on existing concepts and learnt knowledge on change management, project management methodologies like Lean 6 Sigma which I was not aware of. The interactive and practical exercises made the retention of the knowledge effective.

By Shereen M

Dec 3, 2021

This course is suitable to be a university degree accredited by the best universities. It provides valuable information and in the immediate goal without boring details. It is a practical course that really makes a project manager with good knowledge

By Dele-Oyeleru C M

Apr 30, 2021

This course does an amazing job of outlining and exploring the wide spectrum of Project Management.

The real-world examples of actual Google Project Managers, their stories, experiences, challenges give the course a humane feel and aid understanding.

By Felipe G

Apr 16, 2021

I have said it throughout the course, the amount of information that I have acquired is incredible, I am not only PM but I am also a coordinator and I execute many tools but this was early to finally close a stage. For the next stage, work at Google.

By Kimberly S

Mar 17, 2021

I think that this first course is a great start for anyone that is exploring a role in project management. I also think that this first course is a way for seasoned PMs to brush up on their skills or upskill. I'm looking forward to the next course.

By Denise V

Dec 31, 2022

Overall, I like how the course flow allows employed course-takers like me to have sovereignty over the phasing. I can study when I have extra time. I also like how the course is very well planned from the videos to the reading materials and quizzes.

By Melissa B R

Sep 12, 2022

El curso es muy bueno para entrar en contexto general del manejo de proyectos. Desde aquí puedes saber si es algo que te gustará. Los conceptos se explican de manera muy simple y rápida y las lecturas son buenas para complementar. Se pasa muy rápido

By Vele S

Oct 10, 2021

As a person who pays attention to every detail,I loved the course from the first to the last minute,perfectly covered topics and great explanations in order not to get confused. Fell in love with Project Management and a course that is lifechanger !

By Matheus P

May 1, 2021

O curso superou minhas expectativas na questão de conteúdo e apresentação.

Mesmo sendo um curso on-line, foi bastante instigante e dinâmico, alternando entre vídeos, textos e atividades. Abordou tópicos importantes e de maneira bastante satisfatória.

By Kay M

Apr 20, 2021

So far, so good! I've learned a lot, and the content is presented in a very understandable way. Prior to this course I used to think that project management was a really difficult area to get into, even though I'd always wanted to do it.

Not anymore!

By Melinda D

Apr 16, 2021

Spannende Einleitung in den Kurs, man kann sich erst mal in das gesamte Thema reinfinden. Es dauert meistens eher weniger lange als angegeben und durch die gute Abwechlung zwischen Video/ lesen/ schreiben/ Quizzes/ Aufgaben wird es nicht langweilig.

By Michelle W

Mar 15, 2021

This is an excellent course. I have tried several via Udemy, and other online instructors, and this blows the others away. Thank you for this refreshing approach, down to earth instruction, and diverse presentation. I am SO happy I signed up for it.

By Tobi E A

Nov 28, 2022

The instructors are very clear, giving you real-life examples to make you understand the concept being taught. Also having to answer some questions in between the course is a great way to stay focused and understand more. I absolutely recommend it.

By Darren P

Apr 24, 2022

This course was awesome. It was much better than the books I have been reading on the subject. I spent hours in Barnes and Noble and in school struggling with this topic. Your instructors make this course fun and I am glad I purchased this course.

By Emmanuel E

Jan 6, 2022

This course provides a solid foundation for project management. It provided a bird's eye view of project management and also piqued my interest in some of the tools and principles of project management. I am now more determined to see this through.

By Noemi A B

Aug 1, 2021

Worth the time and effort! Highly recommended. You'll definitely learn a lot of things to prepare yourself in Project Management. The course is not just helping you get a job, but it's a life skill that you'll be able to apply in everything you do.

By Ana C

Apr 15, 2021

Excellent course, I lot of information about the foundations of project management that will help me to understand more about the beaty of this role. I really recommend anybody that interesting to learn about project management to take this course.

By Rahul S

Jul 15, 2022

It is a really an valuable course. It discussed every small topics which are really important for a Project Manager. Even after performing as a Project Manager ,i came to know about some improtant elements which can help me achieve more and more .

By Kate M

Feb 26, 2022

This is just part one but I am super excited about the fact that my future career might end up in the field of project management. The mentors are true professionals and passionate people. They are great motivators, too. Thank you for this course!

By Bruna d S P

Apr 19, 2021

It is a course that greatly expanded my knowledge of Project Management and the true role of a Project Manager.Thank you Coursera for making the course available and the entire Google team for teaching the classes and making the content available.

By Sravan T

Dec 19, 2022

The Foundation of Project Management course is awesome .. i learn a lot of good words along with explanations. Now I am able to explain basic and brief explanations about the overview of Project management. Thank you for this course from Coursera

By Barbara H

Jul 8, 2022

This course is full of so much useful real-world information. The materials are very helpful, and everything is explained with related examples to give more clarity. I enjoyed the course, and I'm looking forward to the courses following this one!