Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science, AI & Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science, AI & Development by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
30,442 ratings

About the Course

Kickstart your learning of Python with this beginner-friendly self-paced course taught by an expert. Python is one of the most popular languages in the programming and data science world and demand for individuals who have the ability to apply Python has never been higher. This introduction to Python course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours—no prior programming experience necessary! You will learn about Python basics and the different data types. You will familiarize yourself with Python Data structures like List and Tuples, as well as logic concepts like conditions and branching. You will use Python libraries such as Pandas, Numpy & Beautiful Soup. You’ll also use Python to perform tasks such as data collection and web scraping with APIs. You will practice and apply what you learn through hands-on labs using Jupyter Notebooks. By the end of this course, you’ll feel comfortable creating basic programs, working with data, and automating real-world tasks using Python. This course is suitable for anyone who wants to learn Data Science, Data Analytics, Software Development, Data Engineering, AI, and DevOps as well as a number of other job roles....

Top reviews

HM

Nov 17, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

MA

May 16, 2020

The syllabus of the course takes you in a roller-coaster ride.

From basic level to advance level and you won't feel any trouble nor hesitate a bit.

It's easy, it's vast, and it's really usefull.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 5,211 Reviews for Python for Data Science, AI & Development

By Ruchita K

Jun 15, 2020

I am a complete fresher when it comes to Python. I have only a little background of learning a bit of Java. I found this course very easy to understand and the Labs were the actual highlight of this course where I learned the most. If you are taking this course, do the labs thoroughly there a lot to take away. Enjoy!!

By Ashwin C P

Dec 16, 2019

On of the best course that I took on Coursera since it covers python from the basics. It gives an good idea about how to use the tool in an application oriented manner. The final assignment was the best as it covers almost all the exercises of past weeks. also it gives an real life application of how to use python.

By Dr. M C

Apr 2, 2021

This is a fantastic course that takes the learner from the very beginning to the very end of operating with the Python software. This course was both demanding and fascinating, and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. I struggled the most in two parts, but my determination to finish the course carried me through.

By Amin N

Nov 13, 2020

The Watson Studio interface has changed compared to the instructions in the course for final assignment submission. I think it would be better to update that part or change the way of final project assignment. On overall, the IDE of Watson Studio is not user friendly at all and very complicated to work with.

Thanks :)

By Athira A

Jul 2, 2020

This course covers the basics of Python in great detail. The videos were easy to follow and backed by exercises giving the student an opportunity to see the code and its effect in action. I do have programming experience but am new to Python and I am very glad I utilized the pandemic period to start with a new skill.

By Tareq M F

Jun 17, 2020

Well organized course with effective material to get acquainted with the usage of Python in Data analysis. Thanks, Coursera and IBM also for this platform, if anyone really cares about learning definitely they should have a look into it. One more thing a basic knowledge of Python will help to make it smooth learning.

By Andreas E

May 15, 2020

Well organized course. First couple of lessons are a bit slow (at least if you have experience from other statistical software), but quickly picks up pace and has some really interesting assignments. A few bugs/typos in some of the exercises but maybe that was on purpose to keep us on our toes? Would recommend.

By Abhishek B

Apr 10, 2020

Covered the basic pretty well. Introducing some challenging problems would have been really helpful, even if it was to be made optional. Rather than giving 5-10% grades for each quiz, we could have made the final assignment tougher & with more problems for testing. The test only incorporated problems on pandas.

By Shreyash Y

Jan 21, 2021

This course will take you from the most basic of programming in python which is quite easy to understand even if you are not from this field. One more good thing about this course is the flexibility of the course and the self assessment of the topics make it more interesting and makes you learn more quickly.

By Andru F

Dec 30, 2019

This course was really great, it helped grow a foundation for Python in context of Data Science. It helped me get over a learning plateau I've been at for some time to feel more comfortable with coding. The coursework and labs were top notch, I'm quickly becoming a fan of IBM Watson Studio from this as well.

By Muhammad F R

Jan 6, 2022

This course was really helpful. Instructors have put a great amount of energy, time and effort to make this course valuable and enjoyable at the same time. Learned Python Programming for Data Science and Data Engineering. Now excited about Python Project for Data Engineering. Thank you so much for the help.

By K58 L D Q

Jun 25, 2021

Very informative and educational course, I have had a few experience in Python Programming before but this course introduce me a very interesting aspect of it, which is web-scraping. But I recommend anyone taking this course take it slow because it can be very different to understand for newbie. Good luck.

By lincoln m

Jun 18, 2022

Amazing. I had previously learnt all the content so I went straight to the Graded Quiz section in every module to gadge myself. Based on the results of the Graded Quizes I went to learn what I really needed. The course was very good as it helped me refresh my memory on some key areas I was abit rusty in.

By Hailu D G

May 14, 2022

It is a very intersting and highly motivating kind of courses that let equipped me with a lot of outstanding ways of coding styles. It helps me with so many python libraries and how they works with their set of application in relation to data sciences. I really apperciate IBM and Corsera. Thanks a lot!

By Kamalapriya A

Feb 25, 2021

An excellent foundation for Python programming unwrapping many concepts leading to further exploration by the learner. Enjoyed learning. The best part is the questions that pops up in the middle of the lectures and the Jupiter Notebook for practice that made the learning very interesting. Thank you!

By Jorge V

Oct 30, 2021

To be honest, at first it was good information about Data Science and Analytics. Then when it progressed into actual assessments and projects along with coding that is where I needed to buckle down and take it more seriously because if you do not know the material then the Quiz's become difficult.

By dharmesh s

Aug 18, 2020

MOST IMPORTANT PART OF THE COURSE THIS PYTHON FOR DATA SCIENCE AND AI DUE TO PROGRAMMING SKILL DEVELOPMENT AND IMPROVE YOUR SKILL FOR DATA SCIENCE FIELD PANDA AND NUMPY SMALL INTRODUCTION STARTING BASE WORK VERY GOOD MOST IMPORTANT COMPLETE THE ASSIGHNMENT

THANK YOU FOR THE COURSERA COMMUNITY

By Enrico S

Jan 12, 2023

It was a very good experience who allows to me to improve my knowledges about Data Science world. I've appreciated , as in the previous courses that I took here, the interactively, the hands-on lab on cloud to practice programming and Your suggest to keep learning.

Thanks again for all :)

Enrico

By Gracia C

May 3, 2020

This course definitely helps guide you through some basics of Python but it really is up to you to practice on your own in the labs. The video lectures with the diagrams and the voiceover are extremely helpful. Overall, I'd recommend this course to any beginner who is looking to learn Python.

By Igweajah J U

May 22, 2022

This is one of the best online courses I have ever taken in my life. The details are well explained and I am really spurred to delve further deeper into this domain. Thank you Coursera, and most importantly, thank you to IBM who simplified this course for easy understanding and assimilation.

By Salil R

Jun 30, 2020

It was a good course. Not that. I leaned lot but I believe I haveth to learn bit more on Functions, API Calls and applications of different API to match with parameters.

However the instructions were good, understandable and lucid in substantiation. Helpful are the aspects of taking Notes.

By Michele M

May 7, 2020

The content was evenly spread out throughout the lessons, I am a programmer so I think I had an advantage, but this was a challenging course considering the amount of diffrent technologies involved.

I appreciated very much the succint explanations....objects in Python in a 10 minutes video ;)

By KAIVALYA V

Feb 6, 2021

I have really enjoyed this course. This course is lucid and pretty much understandable for beginners who have little knowledge in programming. For me this course proved to be an Incredible Motivator. I personally recommend this course for learning the basics of both Python and Data Science.

By Ayoub B

Jan 26, 2021

I’m glad to finish this amazing course, basically one of the best courses that I’ve got , even i would recommend it for any one who’s interested in datascience or Python in general.

Also i would like to thanks IBM, mr Joseph S. for this great content and Coursera for the great experience .

By Thomas N

Nov 8, 2020

A great course! the contents are demnading, but very systematic, precise and well organized. Hence the course allows for quick progress and a high learning curve! Particularly the extensive Watson notebooks are a great help while also showing how Watson can be used for practical purproses.