Chevron Left
Back to Managing Emotions in Times of Uncertainty & Stress

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Emotions in Times of Uncertainty & Stress by Yale University

4.8
stars
2,413 ratings

About the Course

Developed by the Yale Center for Emotional Intelligence, Managing Emotions in Times of Uncertainty & Stress will provide participants with the knowledge, skills, and strategies to understand and manage their emotions and those of their students. The 10-hour online course is designed for school staff, including teachers, paraprofessionals, counselors, principals, and non-teaching staff in preK-12 schools....

Top reviews

DW

Mar 17, 2022

The course was outstanding. Many of the techniiques outlined in the course I have been using for years. I was refreshing and I will continue to use these practices in my school leadership capacity.

LW

Dec 3, 2021

I'm not a teacher, but you don't need to become one to enroll. It has thought me so much as a student. Emotional Intelligence is an important life skill, and this course is an amazing starter kit.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 603 Reviews for Managing Emotions in Times of Uncertainty & Stress

By Amanda G

Jun 14, 2022

This course was a game changer for educators wanting to make a lasting impact on the social, emotional, and academic outcome for their students. Marc Brackett walks participants through a series of lessons that grow each individual in their emotional well-being, while helping them to perceive others in a different way. I would recommend this course to any educator who wanted to change their classroom and school climate into one of acceptance and relationship centered.

By Kelley B

Feb 24, 2021

Great course! I loved the diversified way the lessons are presented for all learners.The stress free completion and working at my own pace made this an enjoyable course! In addition, I feel my learning cemented by the ability to go back and submit work for a regrade as it helped me to look at errors and try again by resubmitting after looking at the portions that I was unsure of. Very enjoyable and I would take another course!

By Armando J

Feb 19, 2021

This was an exceptional course and the structure allowed me to return to the information and apply it to my day-to-day. I appreciate the attention and detail invested into making this course thorough and seamless. I shared what I learned with my team and have encouraged them to leverage this resource. I am hoping to incorporate this into our educator training and will make sure to become a RULER school.

By Renee J

Oct 17, 2021

What a great way to start this school year. Stress in high with students and teachers. Because of this course, I believe I am strong emotionally and in a position to help others. Next year, we are going to teach RULER to our students. Dr. Brackett is amazing. I read Permission to Feel and while I cried and lost a lot of sleep while I read it, I learned so much about myself. Thank you.

By Francisca L G S

Mar 21, 2021

I thank Dr. Marc Brackett and his team for carrying out this course, as teachers, we are always oriented to serve and attend to the needs of our students and parents in the same way, and the question is who takes care of my emotions? I appreciate all the strategies and resources provided to deal with a dystopian situation and power just like the eagles soaring above the circumstances.

By SALLY S

May 7, 2022

Thank you very much Yale Center for Emotional Intelligence for this course you offered here in Coursera. Managing Emortions in times of Uncertainty and stress is a great help to us as teachers. this is one way we can show our love and understanding to our co-workers, people around us, family members and to our studentts.. More courses to follow.. More Power and God Bless.

By Maria S B

Apr 14, 2021

Important class to take. I learned new tools to manage stressful moment in my life. The course is designed and organized in such a way that it is user friendly.

It addresses your needs to become familiar with Emotional Intelligence and SEL strategies. This course made it possible for me to understand the difference between being an Emotional Scientist v. Emotional judge.

By Nabegha M

Mar 24, 2023

This is one of the best self-paced online course that i have come across on the topic of emotions. it has been presented with creativity and ingenuity. This course trains the mind and heart to recognize and manage emotions with the help of colors and scenarios that make it quite memorable; thus facilitating implementation of the same in real life scenarios.

By Leo A C

Jun 9, 2022

First and for most, I was quite impressed about the way the course was prepared and presented.

Coursera is a friendly platform to follow and join technology, knowledge and forces qith YALE, it is advantagous.

I did learned a lot and many samples about handling emotions, will be used not only inse classrooms, but also in my personal life as well.

Thanks

By Ma. J V

Aug 17, 2021

it is a very fulfilling , practical and achievable course that can be applied in any situation. It can be a self-help or an empowering one.

Course delivery and the structure ofthe lessons are easy . The links to the learning materials are awesome. I enjoyed reading through them with ease and no stress at all.

I enjoyed doing the course. It's fun.

By M A

Apr 15, 2022

I do not work in the US but COVID has affected the world- so this was very useful. This course is a very organized view into developing skills and thinking about emotions intelligently. Learned a lot about a particular approach to SEL and saw clear and immediate ways to apply it in my both my high school classes and personal life.

By Karen P L

Mar 15, 2021

The course is very good. Each section is informative, resources are useful and it approaches SEL in a way that fits with our increasing understanding of the importance of relationships and felt-safety in regulation of emotions. Thank you for the opportunity to do this in a format and at a pace that fits a busy life.

By Trish P

Nov 4, 2021

What an incredible introduction to SEL and the RULER framework for students. I work with kindergarten children and this course has helped me reframe my interactions with these little people to teach them valuable life skills that will last their whole life. Thank you so much for sharing this to the world!

By Terence F E A

Feb 28, 2022

It is a very useful course in providing us with the tools we need to manage our emotions and also that of our students. I found it particularly easy to understand and will us and apply these tools to make my classroom a better place for all to learn and be inspirred to achieve their goals for the future.

By Nancy W

Aug 5, 2021

Great opportunity for learning whether you are a teacher or not, I took the course as a HR professional. It applies the same way for employees as it does in many cases for students. I do wish I would have paid for the certificate though. I did not know you could not do it after the class was over!

By Bells M

Sep 2, 2021

I'm sure you will enjoy and learn many new things here that are so important to your career! And after finishing this course you will realize that you are not the same person as when the course started. This course will change you forever! #YaleCourse #SEL #AmazingCourse

By Alana B

Apr 29, 2021

Very much enjoyed this course. It's well-laid out, science/data-based and delivered in a well-balanced variety of learning modes (text/video/graphics/articles) I recommend this course to all educators, parents and anyone working with students in an educational setting.

By Lucille H

Mar 12, 2021

Absolutely loved this course! Highly recommend it to all who are dealing with others and really want to find more about even themselves! In my opinion giving yourself and others to PERMISSION TO FEEL- is one of the best support we can give each other as fellow humans!

By 洪詩茜

May 16, 2022

I learned a lot from this course, and it did help me to plot my own feelings and to guide students while facing conflicts or complicated emotions. I think the more schools pay attetion to Social Emotional Learning, the better students can become a life-long learner.

By Miriam P D

Jan 31, 2021

Driving teams within current context demands new skills, in this sense Yale University provided two great tools as Mood Meter and RULER to support ourselves and those for who we care about to master the ability to make emotions work for you, instead of against you.

By Vilai O

Feb 24, 2021

This has been very helpful course for me personally because it provides some very excellent tips to manage my own emotional health being during Covid19 pandemic and provides insight and effective strategies of how to help students who are under emotional distress.

By janna m

Feb 1, 2021

Every educator should take this course right now! Stress and burnout have never been greater and this course provides tools we can use right now to support our students and ourselves in growing through these difficult times. Thank you for offering this for free!!!

By Deborah M d

May 9, 2021

I am really impressed with Yale's Center for Emotional Intelligence and what they are doing to help students understand their own emotions and those of fellow students. I really appreciated the exploration to understand my own emotions and responses as well.

By Jonathan B

Feb 13, 2021

An excellent, free offering for educators wanting to expand their own social and emotional health (as well as that of their students). Pair this with Dr. Brackett's book, Permission to Feel, as well as the Mood Meter app for additional learning and practice.

By Kelly K

Mar 1, 2021

I highly recommend this course to all educators and parents. The art of recognizing, understanding, labeling, expressing and regulating are key terms to put into action for all members in the community. Thank you for these wonderful moments of learning.