Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,650 ratings
528 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Top reviews

RD
Jul 31, 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK
Jun 2, 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 515 Reviews for Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

By Renna Z

Jun 16, 2020

Very interesting and informative. I loved the course and the insructor.

By Mansi Y

May 20, 2020

amazing course, must for psychology lovers...learnt a lot of new things

By Sachin K

Sep 10, 2018

Perfect Course and detailed knowledge for each and every part of memory

By Ajaan R K

Jul 15, 2016

Easily Understandable... VERY Interesting... Thoroughly Entertaining...

By Moza S

Dec 21, 2019

Thank you all for this wonderful course. It was extremely informative.

By Silvia F

Mar 11, 2019

Nice course to explain and understand memory with movies as examples.

By Md. I H

Aug 29, 2020

this course gave me a clear concept about memory that I hadn't before

By PARESH P

Jul 25, 2020

An In depth Understanding of how memory Works, Beautifully explained

By Andreia D

May 30, 2017

It was very interesting and helpful. Thank you for the great classes!

By jinxiu

Nov 7, 2016

特别喜欢这个课程,让我了解很多原来不知道的知识,也让我知道一些大脑的运作规则,我向很多身边的朋友,同事推荐了这个课程,值得认真的学一学。

By HELLEN D S S

Aug 6, 2020

IIt is an instructive and inspiring course. It is very worth doing!

By Olivia d L Q R

Sep 28, 2020

I Love this course and really like Mr Seamon. Thank you very much.

By Adilah S

Jun 14, 2020

One of the best courses that I have taken. I highly recommend it!

By Frank S

Apr 1, 2018

A very satisfying course. I like the way the instructor teaches.

By Klaske K

Jun 29, 2017

Interesting and fun. Want to see some of the movies mentioned.

By Jesús A

Mar 3, 2017

If you love movies and psychology this course mixed both great

By Shandris T

Mar 10, 2016

I thought this was a beautiful way of explaining these things.

By Priyanka B

Sep 3, 2020

it was a great course very educational. i really enjoyed it.

By Elvira Z

Jun 19, 2016

A most interesting form of a course presentation. Thank you!

By DR R S

Dec 31, 2019

Brilliant course learn a lot about memory and how it works.

By Imane f f

Feb 19, 2018

very joyful and fun to learn, I loved every lesson so far.

By Heather S M

Sep 24, 2020

This course was informative and engaging. I recommend it.

By Nancy

Jul 29, 2019

Loved this course!! I have recommended this course to many

By Usha V

Oct 29, 2017

To the point, well organized course. Thank you very much.

By SANDRA E

Jul 31, 2017

Excellent content and worth reviewing! Great movies also.