Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.7
5,353 ratings
1,123 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second). Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM

Sep 29, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 1,053 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Carlos D R S

Jun 26, 2017

Ta' con madre

By Mohamed A

Dec 15, 2016

Really iam so so so happy :) this course is the best course i met before :) <3 <3 <#

By Madhav R

Feb 23, 2017

It was an awesome experience and this course is all one needs to get good at algortihms.

By Suresh K D

Nov 13, 2016

It's really insightful, It would be great if the test cases for each problems, shared with the student.

Thank you!

By Ananya G

Feb 11, 2018

Amazing course!

By Alexander D

May 16, 2017

Great introductory course. Lots of details and interesting problem sets. Extremely quick responses with the discussion forum. Great help.

One suggestion would be to be a bit better at explaining things, especially the mathematical proofs. They are quick rigorous, yes, but more emphasis should be given on understanding why in simple, human language. Then we could go over the proof together.

By Куликова А Г

Oct 07, 2016

Прекрасный курс для начинающих!

By PrimeAI

Oct 06, 2016

Awesome!!! Thanks to all instructors.

By Rakesh G

Sep 25, 2017

Best course for algorithm

By Martin H

Feb 08, 2017

Very good design of course. It seems simple at the beginning but later very useful.

By Anand S S

Jan 22, 2017

Lots to learn and a great course.

By Deleted A

Dec 26, 2016

great

By Diwakar s

Aug 10, 2016

One of th best Courses on Coursera.

By Aleksander Z

Sep 01, 2016

It`s a very good course that covers some of the most fundamental concepts behind algorithms!

By PyxRu

Feb 07, 2017

Love course

By Rohit S

Oct 31, 2017

i loved it.

By Sonaal S

Sep 12, 2016

great

By Alex B

Dec 02, 2016

Very helpful course! Goes over a lot of concepts I see come up with Comp Sci a

By Amr L O

Oct 15, 2016

At my country I was dropped of the final year computer engineering and automatic control at engineering faculty due to health and financial conditions, with online courses I have the chance to prove what I can do, Thank you very much !!

By Дон В Р

Sep 07, 2017

cool!

By Abhishek j

Sep 24, 2016

An exception and resourceful course from best instructors n teachers globally.I am glad to be a part of this.

By Nagaraj G

Dec 24, 2016

This is a fantastic course. Great material well supplemented by assignments.

By saurabh p

Dec 02, 2016

It was quite interesting .

By Rohit J

Aug 16, 2016

this course is very useful. Every topic is covered here and the assignments were also very effective to check your concept.

By Ahmad B E

Jul 28, 2017

Very good course especially for competitive programmers. Not like other courses on design algorithms which focus on teaching stander algorithms. This course focus on improving the ability to design and create new algorithms to solve real life problems which makes it prefect for competitive programmers.